Latest News

Yamba Women’s Bowls ‘special day’

Life Members and Patrons were honoured at their special day at Yamba Women’s Bowling Club last Thursday with a wonderful turnout of 48 bowlers. The esteem in which these ladies are held is borne out by the fact that so many players turned out on probably the coldest day experienced on the Yamba greens this winter. Thanks to the generosity of Life Members Shirley Drum, Betty Scott and Lyn Olsson, along with Patrons Beryl Neilsen and Bernice Madden, major prizes for the morning’s games were awarded, in addition to the regular Lucky Bowlo Bucks. The major prize for the biggest winning margin among the games of box draw triples went to the team of Jan Stamp, Ruth Fletcher and Cathryn Aitchison who played outstanding bowls to chalk up a margin of +29. They had quite a gap over runners up Maria Sakac, Coral Taylor and Wynne Bell on +22. Lucky rink winners of the Bowlo Bucks were Helen Scott, Gloria Davis and Joan Scadden, and runners up went to Beryl Mills, Jan Dunning and Beryl Evans (again). Hailing from Lithgow, Beryl commented that the temperature reminded her of home! Drawn for the consolation Bowlo Bucks were Raels McKibbin, Sandy Owen and Kaye Mason. It was quite fitting that they won as they had a great tussle, going down 12-13 to Bev Shatte, Barb Cross, and a special visitor from Maclean, Jan Funnell. Following a delicious, warm luncheon the guests of honour were each presented with a gift by President Robyn, and each spoke in turn to thank her and all present for being there. A wonderful day was had by all. Meanwhile, there was a handover of the Queen of the Green title on Tuesday 12th July, when challenger Kaye Mason defeated Denise Burey in their singles match up. After an even start of fluctuating fortunes, the score stood at 8-5 to Kaye on 10 ends. But after 13 ends and leading 11-6, Kaye put the foot down and dominated the game at 20-6 after another 6 ends. Denise creditably toughed it out but Kaye went on to score a comfortable 25-11 win. The next challenger is Joan Scadden. In social pairs on 12th, lucky rink winners were Margaret Wall and Elaine Herbert; runners up Beryl Neilsen and Wynne Bell; and the consolation went to Kaye Wilson and Margaret Durante. It is marvellous to be welcoming so many lovely visitors of late, and great that they come out among our Bowlo Bucks winners. This week our Championship Triples begins on Thursday with 11 teams entered. The three games in the first round see G Hoskin/S Lindsay/L Ashbury take on W Bell/K Mason/W Ballantyne, C Deveney/R McKibbin/M Durante up against J Dunning/M Stone/L Olsson, and J Scadden/D Burey/C Cole play G Davis/J Pryor/I Neill. Wendy Ballantyne