Major Singles winner Helen Atkinson, r/up Judy Abbott and president Kaye Mason. Image: Contributed

Yamba Women’s Bowls Major Singles decider

With a strong gusty southerly wind blowing on Saturday morning, the finalists Judy Abbott and Helen Atkinson took to the Greens in bright sunshine.

But it was Helen with beautiful precision draw bowls who dominated the game from the start. And despite Judy’s best effort it was Helen who took the honours, only allowing Judy to keep 4 shots, this despite Judy’s strong play throughout the whole competition, defeating everyone in her path.

Helen is now Club Champion for 2019 adding to her title from years 2016 and 2018 and, interestingly Judy had also attained this status in 2005.

The marker for the day was president Kaye Mason.

Many thanks go to the umpires, markers and those who filled the role of controlling body throughout the Saturday morning competition.

On Shot