Queenslanders share win in Grafton Pro-Am

A total of 36 professionals made the effort to attend Monty Conderman Memorial Grafton Pro-Am. States represented, apart from NSW, include Queensland, South Australia, Victoria and Western Australia. Queensland players, Brenton Parrish and Brett Rankin, shared the win with a 4 under par 68. Next best was the highly talented Rachael Hetherington, also from Queensland with a 2 under par 70. Making a return to the Grafton course, where they learnt their golf and began their professional golf careers were Jay Townsend and Shayne Hayman. Jay finished the tournament with a very healthy one under par 71 to finish equal 5th. Shayne, now representing Queensland, finished further back in the field. No doubt, one of the reasons the tournament was so successful was the inclusion of 84 amateur golfers playing with the professionals, ensuring a strong field. A countback was required to determine the winner of the amateur component of the tournament with both Willow Harris and Janette Blair finishing with 39 Stableford points. Willow eventually declared the winner. They were followed by Nick Fuller, Chris Wheelahan and one of Grafton’s leading Veteran golfers, Warren Moss, all representing Grafton Golf Club. From comments provided by the professionals and sponsors, the event will certainly be held again in 2016. This is a reflection on the high esteem the Monty Conderman Memorial Pro-Am has attained in just the 1st year of its existence. There may not have been any professionals playing in last Saturdays Naeco Blue 18 hole Stableford, however some of those in the field played like Professionals, especially Jim Packwood (21) and Ray Smith (18) who both finished with 41pts. Jim was awarded the overall win with Ray declared the C Grade winner. Matthew Worthing who plays off 1, had the best round off the stick with 69 hits which equates to 40pts giving him the win in A Grade. John Thompson (9) was the A grade runner up with 38pts. Clint Corbett cleaned up B Grade with 39pts from Dennis Pye on 36pts. As mentioned previously Ray Smith (18) won C Grade. Following a well constructed 3 putts on the 18th, Bill Heath(16) gained the runner up spot with 40pts. In D Grade Tom Battaglini (21) and Brian Hewitt (27) both finished on 37pts with Tom winning on a countback. The shot of the day belonged to Clint Corbett (10) who holed out on the par 4 14th with his 2nd shot to record a remarkable eagle on that hole. To score a Pro-Ball on the day you needed 35pts on a countback. This Saturday will be a Stroke event which is the October Monthly Mug sponsored by McLennan Deece Optometrist. The October Mug will be the last opportunity to qualify for the Gold Mug and Silver Medal Play-offs scheduled for later in the year. That competition will be followed on Sunday with the 2015 Mens 27 hole foursomes Championships which will need a boost in nominations quickly, if it is to proceed. Ray Hopwood