Pro’s fire it up at Yamba

Saturday and Sunday saw the running of the 11th Crowe Horwath Pro-Am with over 40 pro’s fighting it out for the $20,000 purse. The weather on Saturday was testing to say the least with rain early in the morning and southerly winds gusting up to 40 to 50 km making it extremely hard from tee to green, this however proved no problem for Victorian Professional Luke Hickman who shot a 7 under 65 to give him the overnight lead for the tournament with only one other player shooting under par. Sunday was a completely different story with the sun shining and the greens running quick good scores were out there. Saturdays leader Luke played steady for 15 holes until the dreaded 16th where he made triple returning him an even par 72, this opened the door for the rest of the field and you could not rule out last years winner Brett Rankin who has won his last two starts at the Casino and Murwillumbah pro-am’s. Sure enough Brett fired an 8 under 64 to go back to back Crowe Horwath Champion winning by 1 shot and giving him 3 Pro-am victories in a row. The Duncan’s Carpet Cleaning shoot out which was held on Saturday night was won by our resident Professional John Wright who hit the last shot of the night and knocked it to 2.5 meters giving him the money. The armature shoot out was won by Doug Luckie who was one of about 4 to hit the green in the windy conditions. On the amateur side of things Saturdays single stableford was won by Ian Brockwell with a great 42pts from Visitor George Khouri 40pts on a count back from Chris Bonner 40pts, 4th was Rob Hodson with 39pts 5th went to Jennifer Fagan 38pts, 6th was Russell Cain 37pts on a count back from Matt Chenney, 8th was William Payne on 37pts, 9th went to David Miles 36pts on a count back from President Tony Moran 10th 36pts. Nearest to the pins were Damion Parker at 211 on the 3rd, the 9th went to Bill Payne 118cm, the 10th was Young Reilly Wunderlich 238cm, the 12th went to Russell Cain 52cm, Damion Parker won the 17th and the Professional shot sponsored by the very generous Ken Taylor went to Guy Ferguson 525cm. Longest drives were Sven Pymbroeck for the Pro’s, the Men’s was Michael Shirlow and the Ladies went to Carolyn Chester. Sundays amateur winners were Guy Carpenter with 42pts on a count back from Michael Shirlow, John Hogan was third with 41pts, 5th was Peter Blom 38 on a c/b, Andrew King was 5th 38pts, Gabba was 6th 37pts, Andy Duke-Young was 7th with 37pts, Andrea Zammarini 8th 36pts, Garry Downes 9th 36pts on a c/b and 10th went to The TI Ian Goodman with 36pts. Nearest to the Pins were; on the 3rd Carrie Aitken 78cm, 9th was Phil Kibble 300cm, the 10th was Andy King 100cm, the 12th Billy Payne at 136cm, the 17th Tony Moran 394cm, the 17th Pro hole was Richard Blackwell. The longest drive for the ladies went to Elika Moore. Thanks to all our generous sponsors who made this event another huge success. Thursday Stableford With great conditions and the course looking in good shape for the pro-am 125 starters contested the midweek stableford with the winner in A grade returning 38pts, Bruce Lulham somehow broke his handicap giving him 1st place, Richard Beresford came 2nd with 36pts on a countback from Clinton Auty form Brisbane 3rd 36pts. A reserve was won by Nick Anderson with the score of the day 41pts from Sunny Bill Williams 38pts on a count back from Greg LaForest 3rd 38pts. B Grade winner was Bruce Petith with 40pts from Mick McCormack 2nd with 38pts and 3rd went to Peter Jarman 3rd with 38pts. Graham Green took out C Grade with 41pts from Ken Lillie 38pts on a count back from Ron McKeon 38pts for 3rd. Nearest to pins were; Pip Dixon on the SeaFire 3rd at 292cm, the Peter Campbell 9th was Royce Collins at 221cm, The SeaFire 10th was Peter Auliff 425cm, the Yamba Barber Shop 12th went to Ian Brockwell 425cm and the SeaFire 17th was won by Greg Little at 420cm. Balls went to 35 with 16 on the back. Don’t forget this Saturday is the last round of the championships and with only 5 shots separating the top 4 in A Grade, A Reserve and C Grade so it’s anyone’s to win. Chris Durrington