Latest News

Iluka Fisho’s Weekend of Golf

Saturday was the start of the annual Fisho’s Weekend Of Golf and a large field assembled to compete in the Caldwell Shield Medley Single Stableford with the following results: Caldwell Shield winner – Bruce Bernardin 41pts on c/b; Nett winners – Men Garry Freeman 41pts; Ladies – Laurice Poore 35pts; Runners up Men – Gordon Farrell 40pts on c/b; Ladies – Deb Rapp 34pts; Next best winners – John Williams 40pts, Jim Wride 39pts on c/b, Neil Stevenson 39pts on c/b and Michael Shields 39pts on c/b; Scratch winners Men – Gary Dobrich; Ladies – Kaye Mills; R/up Men – Peter McCurtayne; Ladies – Allison Hunter, Longest Drive Div 1 Men – Scott Davis; Ladies – Deb Rapp; Div 2 Men – Jack Urquhart; Ladies – Judith Mount; Accuracy Drive Men – Peter McCurtayne; Ladies – Sue Blows, NTP’s – 1/10 Russell Eggmolesse, Sandi Mayoh, 6/15 Scott Davis, Deb Rapp, 8/17 Gordon Farrell, Kaye Mills. Specsavers Ballina Bradman award went to Judith Mount 21pts and Russell Eggmolesse 22pts. The presentation was just terrific with David Boyle (organiser) welcoming members and visitors and introducing John Caldwell to say a few words on behalf of himself and wife Margaret, they have been involved with the Fisho’s Weekend for 34 years which is very wonderful. The quality of the prizes was just fantastic and a credit to our very special sponsors, but also appreciated by all was the traditional serving of seafood including calamari, mullet, whiting etc. Sunday was even bigger than Saturday with a fantastic field to contest Medley 4 person Ambrose with the following results: Nett winners – Bob McFadden, Mat Campbell, Darby Munroe & Deb Rapp; Runners up Peter Whitton, Michael Page, Geoff Cowan & Dave Boyle; Next best winners – Lynn Briggs, George Briggs, V George & Danny Mortison – Col Kempshall, Les Reese, Jim Lowe & Dane Williams -Dallas Morrow, Max Hill, Chris Kembrey & Brian Kembrey; Scratch winners – Gordon Farrell, Scott Davis, Jack Urquhart & Graeme Lynn; Longest Drive Div 1 Men – Greg Speirs, Ladies Deb Rapp; Division 2 Men – Michael Page, Ladies Pam Ravet; Accuracy Drive Men – Ken Mount; Ladies – Julie Page; Team NTP’s – 1/10 John Speirs, 6/15 Laurice Poore, 8/17 Gary Dobrich. Players were very fortunate with the weather as it didn’t rain heavy until play was finished. Once again everyone was treated to quality prizes and scrumptious king prawns, a very big thank you to all our volunteers, special thanks David & Jenny Boyle for making this event happen and of course a big thanks of appreciation from all players to our sponsors: J & M Caldwell, Iluka Real Estate, C & D Auto Electrical, Hag Engineering, McGeary Bros Earth Moving, McGeary Bros Engineering, G & L Briggs, Iluka Slipway, G & R Farrell, Yamba Ready Hire, Clarence River Fish Co-OP, Iluka Boat Shed & Marina, Elders Insurance Grafton, Westlawn Insurance, D & J Boyle. Your support helps our club survive. Next Saturday is Captains V Presidents Medley Single Stableford. We also wish our Pennant team good luck in the final next Sunday.