Latest News

Grafton Rifle Club

The 500 yard match on Saturday was the final round of competitions for the individual trophies in 2015 for Grafton shooters. Only the hotly contested Trivial Cup team competition is yet to run, in two week’s time. The 500 yard match was fired in very pleasant conditions from what seems to be most shooters favourite distance, and the scores were well up to expectations, with no less than eight single stage “possibles” being carded on the afternoon. This shoot was the last to count in both, the various Club Championships, and the Extras-Cross the Course “monthly” trophy. And as was to be expected, the competition was fierce as each fought to garner in every last counting point. In Target Rifle there were six “possibles” recorded, with Peter Nielsen popping in two ,to give him the double [100/100], with Phil Donoghue, Nick Abrahall, Andrew Geary and Derek Higgins carding one each. In F-Class the two “possibles” went to Nick DeBellis and David Grundy who were taking their end of year results right down to the wire. David Grundy went on to finish with Top Off-Rifle Honours, while Scott Murdoch trying his newly upgraded Savage set-up, walked away with the Daily Aggregate. In T/R, Nick Abrahall counted out Ian Griffiths, Phil Donoghue and Tony O’Keeffe for the Elgas Top Off-Rifle Trophy, while Derek Higgins counted out Phil Donoghue and Peter Nielsen for the Daily Aggregate. The winner of the Extras-Cross the Course was Phil Donoghue in T/R, and David Grundy in F-Class. The various results of the Club Championships will be announced after ratification by the Club Committee, now that the score are all in. Next week will be the Christmas ham shoot with table prizes. Contestants are asked to bring a gift to place on the table for Daily Aggregate competition along with the hams. Note that there will be a ham for the “lucky door” prize as well. The shoot will be from the 500 yard mound commencing at 1pm. The range is located at 434 Trenayr Road, opposite the Koppers log mill and adjacent to the Experiment Farm. Visitors and new members are always welcome. Anthony O’Keeffe