Latest News

Erskine and Cope win Thursday Golf

The midweek Stableford event at Yamba Golf Club saw scoring return to normality. Outstanding golf by Craig Erskine and Jim Cope enabled them to record 40 points each and win their respective grades. Craig took out the A Grade event from Kevin Shanahan (38) on a countback from Luke Hitchings. AR Grade showed a welcome return to his best form when Lester English took the winner’s voucher with 39 points. Dave Schwarz and Graham Niland filled the minor placings with 36 points on a countback. Jim Cope led the way in B Grade with his equal best round of the day of 40 points. He was followed by David Atkinson (39) and Alan Syle (38). It was good to see Denis Walpole have a win in C Grade with a great round of 39 points. Vic White (37) and Terry Wilson (35 c/b) were runners up. NTP’s were again generously sponsored by SeaFire Steak & Seafood, Peter Campbell Physiotherapist and Yamba Barber Shop. On the 3rd Garry Payne was closest at 343cm, 9th Ian Goodman 414cm, 10th Dave Schwarz 155cm, 12th Ian Livingstone 96cm and 17th Jamie Pengilly 588cm. To win a ball in the rundown it was necessary to score 34 points with 17 on the back nine. Alan Syle stars on the weekend A very small field of 94 took part in the Saturday Stableford at Yamba Golf Club and scores were extremely low with one exception. Alan Syle blitzed the course to record 43 points and easily win the B Grade voucher from Mike Keating (Royal Canberra) (35) and Peter Sweetman (33). In A Grade, Steve Hodgson returned to the winner’s circle to record a win with 38 points. In the minor placings were Mackenzie Wright (36) and David Bruton (36) after a visit to the countback. Glen Stephens took our the AR Grade voucher with 35 points followed by Paul Edgar (34) and Peter Stoward (Deloraine) on 33. Nearest to the pins were Pip Dixon on the 34d 56cm, Ron McLaughlin (Portarlington) on the 9th 70cm, 10th Greg Laforest 298cm, 12th Paul Edgar 174cm, 17th Greg Wyllie 1051cm and 2nd shot to 17 Ray Scovell 220cm. Thanks again to our sponsors John Wright Pro Shop, Peter Campbell Physiotherapist, SeaFire Steak & Seafood and Bean Scene Café. The ball rundown went to a miserly 31 points with 17 on the back nine. Earp and Lulham Foursomes Champions A quality field competed in the annual Foursomes Championships and Tina Earp and Bruce Lulham were narrow winners with 131 from Carolyn Chester and Glenn Scarffe on 131. The net winners were Kim Lipscombe and David Bruton with 105-1/2 followed by Glenda Smith and Stephen Henwood on 107-3/4. David Miles