Latest News

Grafton Women Golf Champions

Jen Townsend successfully defended her title when she won the 2016 Ladies Club Championship last Wednesday.
After heading into Round 4 of the Championship with a three shot lead, Jen was able to fend off her challengers and finish a clear four shots ahead of Sharyn O’Grady. Jen recorded a four round total of 357, with Sharyn finishing on 361. Janette Blair came in 3rd on 370 followed by Elaine Shand on 373. Jen was presented with the Ann Bawden Perpetual Brooch and, despite battling some strong westerly winds in her final few holes, and posting a last round total of 90 hits, she was delighted to claim the honour board title for the second year in a row. Jen thanked her playing partners throughout the 72 holes and congratulated all the winners. Division 2 champion is Millie Harris who played consistently well during the championships to finish with 400, which was three shots ahead of the runner up Sonya Baker on 403. Anna Bidstrup and Dell Burke were next best on 414.
An excited Millie was presented with the Sally Beresford Perpetual Brooch as the Div 2 Champion. Division 3 Champion is Kerry Harding who, despite being certain she had blown her chances by not having a great day in the final round, managed to hold on to claim the title on 437 with Julie Bennett claiming the r/up position of 438 on a c/b from Sandra Gleeson. Margaret Hall finished fourth on 439.
A surprised but very chuffed Kerry was presented with the Roylene Denning Perpetual Brooch as the Div 3 Champion.
Nett winners were Jan Patterson (305) in Div 1 with Noeline Smith (308) r/up. Sonya Baker (303) Div 2 with Millie Harris (312) r/up on a c/b from Anna Bidstrup. Division 3 winner was Margaret Hall (305) from Sandra Gleeson (313). Putting winners were Jen Townsend (119), Millie Harris (130) and Sue Byrnes (136). The winners of the day’s trophies on Wednesday, where 52 players entered the competition, wonderful gift vouchers provided by Tegan Henwood of Pure Perfection.
Narelle Butcher (72) was the best in Div 1, with Jean Dahl (74) the r/up followed by Marianne Mannell (75) on a c/b from Sue Petty. Heather Robinson (70) relished her day in Div 2 to take the win, but we suspect that the handicapper may be making some adjustments to ensure Heather is soon rightfully back in Div 1. Sonya Baker (74) was the r/up followed by Kathy McMullan (79) on a c/b from Millie Harris. Division 3 winner was Julie Bennett (79) on a c/b from Marg Hall and Sue Byrnes. Margaret Rickwood placed 4th with 81 on a c/b. Last Thursday saw 19 of our Grafton ladies head down river to join our Lower Clarence golfing friends for the annual GIMY Shield Friendship Day, which was this year hosted Iluka.
The winning 4BBB pairing this year, went to a Maclean and Yamba partnership with a massive 47pts. Grafton ladies to receive minor placings and raffle prizes included Millie, Helen P, Lorraine Mc and Robyn W. Balls were awarded to both Julie W and Dells’ teams. Thank you to the Iluka ladies for their wonderful hospitality including the scrumptious cakes and slices. We are all looking forward to the day being held in Maclean next year. Friday players were greeted by a lovely morning, however once the strong north westerly winds kicked in, the 31 starters were happy to finish their rounds.
Glenda Chad was not deterred by the winds, finishing in first place in Div 1 with a lovely 35pts. Noeline Smith took second prize with 33pts on a c/b from the recently returned traveller, Peg James. Lyn Hatton is continuing to enjoy her golf with the “big ladies”. She posted 33pts to receive the win in Div 2 from June Cavanagh on 32 with Tess Bloomer coming in third on 26pts. Saturday’s event was a Stroke round incorporating the 5th Monthly Medal, 4th WGNSW Medal, 4th Captain’s Trophy and Round 2 of the Ken Casson Motors Monthly Aggregate. With a cold early morning start, only seven players ventured out for the competition.
Courtney Fuller returned the best score with 77 nett to win the day’s prize and the medal. Janeen Roberts won the ball and Courtney was also the putting winner on the day. Julie White