Latest News

2015 CRDWBA Champions Presentation Day

CRDWBA Presentation Day was held at Red Rock Bowling Club on Thursday August 27 where members of the seven affiliated Clarence River District clubs gathered to honour their 2015 Clarence River District champions. Red Rock WBC president Carol Newman welcomed them all before handing her club and its facilities to District president Judy Abbott who invited all to morning tea, after which District Match chairperson Margaret Eggins read the cards and the players made their way outside where a cloudy day threatened rain but fortunately all games were completed President Judy began the proceedings by thanking the Red Rock ladies for their hospitality and congratulated them on a beautifully decorated function room. She then welcomed Life Member Esme McLennan and Patron Shirley Drum before introducing the CRDWBA”s new Vice Presidents Alma Bowling and Jen Axon Winners of the morning’s play were: Lucky winning rink 10: B. Lambert, J. Watkinson, J. Sinclair and C. Nixon. Lucky winning rink 14: H. Atkinson, L. McKay, D. Rapley and C. Kane. Lucky team 3: K. Cole, A. Bunn S. Squires and L. Olsson. Lucky Lead: Team 16 – Narelle Phelps. Lucky Second: Team 9 – Carol Gurtman. Lucky Third: Team 11 – Lyn Sheppard. Lucky Skip: Team 4 – Annette Williams. CRDWBA Championship winners Senior Fours: winners – J. Pugh, D. Lawson, A. Williams and B. Murray (Grafton District Services); runners up – E. McKew, C. Nixon, G. Ryan and C. Kane (South Grafton). Open Fours: winners – R. Arthur, A. McLean, E. Connell and M. Arthur (Iluka); runners up – C. Johnson, M. Ryan, J. Parkes and S. Rogers (Maclean). Triples: winners – H. Atkinson, R. McPherson and M. Thompson (Yamba); runners up – J. Pugh, A. Williams and B. Murray. Pairs: winners – S. Ferro and J. Parkes (Maclean); runners up – R. Pendergast and A. Bunn (South Grafton). CRDWBA Singles Champion: J. Axon (South Grafton); runner up – E. McKew (South Grafton). Shirley Woodward