Latest News

Yamba Women’s Bowls

Ros Dickson is the winner of the 2015 Minor Singles competition at Yamba Women’s Bowling Club. Ros defeated Bev Shatte in a very close game, 25-17 over 22 ends. Both ladies playing in their first final at Yamba provided a great spectacle of good draw bowling in difficult conditions. Bev got the better of the start, and set up a 4-1 lead after just three ends, which she stretched to 10-6. But Ros steadied, and broke clear with a string of 13 unanswered shots in five ends. Down 10-19, Bev doggedly fought her way back and narrowed the gap to 16-19 with some precision bowling. Ros, however, found her mojo again and pressed on to win a tough contest which was roundly applauded by the spectators. Meanwhile, the first two rounds of the Major/Minor Pairs have also seen some exciting bowls and close contests, with two games needing extra ends to determine the winners. In Round 1, Jane Pearson and Judy Button were equal at 13 all on 14 ends with Sandy Owen and Marie Stone when Sandy and Marie picked up the maximum 8 shots and leapt ahead. To their credit, Jane and Judy won the remaining four ends, to force a draw, and then won 22-21 on an extra end in an enthralling finish. Then in Round 2, Jan Funnell and Monica Conlan also forced their game against Helen Aitchison and Judy Sinclair to 17 all on the final end. After dominating the game early to lead 10-3 after eight ends, they found themselves down 15-17 on the 17th end through the steady consistency of their opponents. However, Jan and Monica ran out 20-17 winners thanks to a delicate on shot by Monica to turn imminent defeat into victory. In other first round match-ups, the Raels McKibbin – Chris Cole combination prevailed 17-11 in a quality game over Pam Conley and Marjorie Thompson, while Helen Scott and Robyn McPherson completely outclassed Glynis Hall and Wendy Ballantyne 26-4. In the second round, Robyn and Helen continued their good form downing Jane Pearson and Judy Button 16-12 in another great game, while Cheryl Deveney and Denise Burey had a hard fought 11-9 win over Marg Wall and Kaye Mason. Also playing some top bowls in the howling gale of the second round Bev Shatte/ Lyn Olsson 20 d Maria Sakac/Judy Abbott 12; Gabby Freeman/ Sonia Graham 24 d Raels McKibbin/Chris Cole 4; Ruthie Fletcher/ Joan Scadden 24 d Carol Casement/ Wynn Bell 8. There were two winners on forfeit: Kerry Pedder/Cathryn Aitchison and Colleen Beard/ Gwen Hoskin. The next round will be held on Tuesday 15 September. In social bowls on Tuesday 1 September, the lucky winners were Keryn Tyler, Faye Reeves and Judy Abbott who defeated Kay Schubert, Sonia Graham and Denise Collier; runners up were Jan Jeans and Carol Casement who won over Maria Sakac and Helen Aitkinson; while the consolation went to Gwen Hoskin and Monica Conlan who lost to Colleen Beard and Joan Scadden. Other results were: R Hippisley/R Fletcher d C Deveney/D Burey and K Pedder/W Bell d M Wall/V Terry. Gwen Hoskin and Kerry Pedder swapped roles to be the lucky rink winners on Thursday 3 September, defeating Peg Wales and Ros Moore and the runners up prize went to Flo Stephens/Faye Reeves/Cathryn Aitchison who defeated Bev Grimes, Sandy Owen and Marie Stone. In the other game, Gloria Davis and Jan Jeanes defeated Colleen Beard and Pam Conley. Wendy Ballantyne