ABOVE: The winning Yamba side with the Nell Brown Shield.

Yamba takes the final Nell Brown Shield

ABOVE: The winning Yamba side with the Nell Brown Shield.
ABOVE: The winning Yamba side with the Nell Brown Shield.


Yamba Women’s Bowling Club has retained the Nell Brown Shield with a comfortable win over Iluka in the annual challenge on Tuesday 10th November.
Catherine Aitchison’s team led the way with a big win over their Iluka opponents. Kerry Pedder, Judy Button, Isabel Neill and Catherine combined very well to pick up several multiples through ends 9 to 16. Despite the valiant efforts of Gerie Rawlings, Robyn Grainger, Leigh Bowers and Pam McMullen, Catherine’s team was playing too well, and were able to push home the advantage to win 35-7.
The match-up between Chris Cole’s and Mary Arthur’s teams was a much closer affair, and in an even start to the game scores were 8-8 on 10 ends. Then Chris, inspired her team and the Yamba girls skipped out to a handy 18-9 lead after 14 ends.
They stretched it to 23-11 on 17, but not to be denied; Wendy Peachey, Margaret Caldwell, Michelle Swan and Mary dug deep and after 20 ends had reduced the deficit to just 4 shots. Had it not been for some marvellous on shots and delicate drawing by Chris, they could well have had the lead.
After the 21st end, the Yamba team of Helen Scott, Wendy Ballantyne, Monica Conlan and Chris prevailed 24-19.
The third game was a very hard fought 16 all draw between the Iluka combination of Robyn Arthur, Kaye Baker, Shirley McNeill and Erica Karstens, and Helen Atkinson, Kaye Mason, Robyn McPherson and Marjorie Thompson of Yamba.
Down 1-6 after 6 ends, the Yamba team hit their straps and scored on the next three ends to set up the arm-wrestle that continued for the rest of the game. Both skips led by example. Erica came up with some crucial on shots at times when her team was in trouble, while Marj played her usual high quality game. Their teams responded, with all eight players contributing.
With no more than 2 shots the difference from the 14th end, Yamba was down 15-16 after 20 ends. They were able to snare the one shot but were denied the second for a win, and so it ended all square.
A wonderful luncheon followed the game.
Thereafter, Management Committee members of both clubs indicated that a mutual decision has been taken to discontinue the Nell Brown Shield challenge, which was begun in the 1990’s and has given many a bowler the opportunity to experience the tough but friendly competition it has been. While all agreed it is a melancholy situation, the need to move forward was acknowledged. The challenge will be replaced with a new, re-vamped event, the details of which are yet to be determined.
It is, therefore a bitter sweet day, seeing the end of one tradition but the beginning of a new one. The shield will now remain proudly on display in the women’s rooms at the Yamba club.
Lucky Rink prizes on the day all went to the Social Bowls rinks, with winners being Raels McKibbin, Pam Conley, Wynn Bell and Ruthie Fletcher who defeated Jan Stamp, Faye Reeves, Bev Shatte and Gloria Davis. Runners up were Colleen Beard and Joan Scadden with a one shot victory over Cheryl Deveney and Denise Collier; while the consolation prize went to Glynis Hall, Maria Sakac, Carol Casement and Jan Funnell, who lost narrowly to Margaret Durante, Beryl Mills, Ros Hippisley and Jane Pearson.
On Thursday 12th, Lucky Rink winners and Consolation were fittingly both on the same rink, as Colleen Beard, Sonia Graham and Wendy Ballantyne had a one shot win over Bev Shatte, Ruthie Fletcher and Judy Abbott.
Runner up winner was the trio of Beryl Mills, Val Terry and Monica Conlan with a two shot margin from Flo Stephens, Wynn Bell and Marie Stone.
The other games saw wins to G Hoskin/R Hippisley/J Scadden by one shot over P Conley/B Lawson/J Sinclair, M Sakac/K Pedder/D Collier over J Pearson/H Atkinson/D Burey and C Deveny/H Scott/K Mason over J Stamp/C Casement/M Thompson.
With lots going on over coming weeks, bowlers are asked to check the notices on the board. In particular please note that 2016 Championship Pairs entries are now open. Wendy Ballantyne