50 Year Long Service awardees – Jim Dougherty (l) and Ken Ryan. Image: Contributed

Yamba SLSC honour long serving members

It was a day for recognising outstanding service at Yamba Surf Club last Sunday when Club president, Joe Dougherty presented Life Membership and Long Service awards to five long serving club members.

Peter Sweetman, who joined the club as a Nipper parent back in 1981 and gained his Bronze Medallion in 1983, was presented with his Life Membership badge in front of family and club members. Peter’s involvement over many years has seen him carry out roles within the club including president, secretary, treasurer, IRB vice-captain, chief instructor, branch delegate and public officer as well as currently being involved as radio officer, Clarence duty officer and drone convenor. His long period of exceptional service is to be congratulated.

Last Sunday, the club also recognised five members who have contributed an enormous amount of volunteer hours to the service of Yamba Surf Club and to the Yamba community over many years.

50 year Long Service awards were presented to Ken Ryan and Jim Dougherty who gained their Bronze Medallions at Yamba together fifty years ago under the instruction of Don Lee who was also present to witness the presentation of the awards. Both awardees have continued their involvement with the same surf club to this day.

A 40 year Long Service award was presented to club boat captain, Rodney McSkimming who served with Red Rock and Woolgoolga surf clubs before joining Yamba in 2005.

Linda Horton, one of Yamba’s first female patrol members, and James Wheeler, were both also awarded certificates for their 30 years Long Service to Surf Life Saving.

All five members have made significant contributions to Yamba Surf Club and the club thanks them all for their dedication, vigilance and service over all these years.

Cathy Dougherty

New Life Member Peter Sweetman (l) being congratulated by Yamba SLSC president, Joe Dougherty. Image: Contributed
30 Year Long Service awardees – James Wheeler and Linda Horton. Image: Contribued
40 Year Long Service awardee – Rodney McSkimming. Image: Contributed