Latest News

Yamba SLSC

This Sunday, 20th September, 10am-11am, will be the second of the nipper registration and information sessions at the clubhouse as Yamba Nippers gears up for another exciting season on Yamba’s Main Beach. The last registration session will be on Sunday 27th September 10am-11pm. Children must be 5 years of age before they can join as a nipper. All new registrations must show a birth certificate before registration can be finalised. For more information please contact Yamba Nippers Coordinator, Danielle Connolly at Branch gear inspectors Ray & Alison Leaver conducted the club patrol equipment inspection last Sunday morning in readiness for the start of patrols this weekend. They also scrutineered the club competition boards and skis. Thank you to club members Kevin Hassey, Todd Ives and Will Brighton for presenting the gear in good condition for the inspectors. The first Carl Schaeffer Handicap Swim of the season starts this Sunday morning with an 11am report for 11.30am start. This popular swim is held every Sunday morning and public holiday with swimmers competing all season for the annual Carl Schaeffer Memorial Pointscore Trophy. Yamba SLSC will be staging the 6th Annual Jacob Lollback Memorial Board Race Day at Main Beach on Saturday 26th September. Strong early entries from Surfers Paradise and Burleigh Heads indicate that the event will once again be well supported by the Gold Coast surf clubs. Last year’s Open Men’s winner Wes Berg is among the early entries from Burleigh whilst the 2015 Nutri Grain Iron Man champion Ali Day will make his first appearance at Yamba representing his new club Surfers Paradise. Former Graftonian Zayne Hamill is the head coach at the strong Surfers Paradise club and has brought a big team of competitors to this event each year. Online entries via the SLSA Carnival Manager System close on Tuesday 22nd September. Late entries will be taken up to 9.30am on the day with racing to start at 10am. Volunteer patrols at Main Beach this weekend are: Saturday 19: 9am-12.30pm Patrol 1: James Ryan, Sean Leonard, Kerry Lee, Deborah Morfett, Jack Leonard, Jack Brighton, Shannon Colwell, Chloe Willemsen, Jack Earle. Saturday 19: 12.30pm- 4pm Patrol 2: Mitch Imeson, Luke Patrick’s, Chris Moran, Katie Becker, Cathy Felmingham, Pierre De Billot, Molly Sanders, Luke Hitchings, Kirsten O’Connor. Sunday 20: 9am-12.30pm Patrol 3: Matt Saunders, Marty Dougherty, Rebecca Clout, Jill Ennever, Belinda Bock, Max Normand, Jasmin Ives, Rachel Fahey, Rhys Comerford, Will Pitkin Sunday 20: 12.30pm-4pm Patrol 4: Phil Kelly, Ray O’ Brien, Leah Essex, Jo King, Caitlin O’Mahony, Mike Smith, Marc Adamson, Vince Bolton, Zac Brotherson, Mitchell Johns, Taylah Sutherland Kerry Lee