Latest News

Yamba Men’s Bowls – Clarence River District bowlers do it again

ABOVE: The all conquering Yamba triples team. Image: Contributed
The Zone One President’s Reserve Triples Championship was contested at East Lismore Bowling Club on Saturday with the Yamba team of Dave Atkinson, Paul Conley and Alan Turnbull representing the Clarence River District. The game against the Ballina RSL team proved a tough affair with neither team mastering the conditions but the Yamba trio slowly gained an advantage through steady bowling. The Ballina team picked up a four midway through the match which gave them some momentum but the Yamba “Young Guns” stuck to their guns and continued to control the match to secure the Zone One President’s Reserve Triples Championship title by 23-12. The final of the 2017 C Grade Singles Championship was also contested on Saturday between Jake McHutchison and Steve Cassidy. These two new bowlers are fast proving they will be very good bowlers in the future. The consistent bowling of Steve proved too good and he went on to secure the 2017 title 32-19. The final of the Clarence River District Champion of Champions Pairs title was hotly contested by the Yamba pair of Martyn Wood and Greg Johnson up against Greg Maxted and Kev Landrigan from the Grafton Club. The Yamba duo was successful and secured the title 24-12. The nomination sheets for the Mixed Fours and men’s Consistency Singles Championships are currently on the notice board and maximum participation in these classic events is encouraged. The 2017 Yamba Classic Pairs tournament is scheduled for Saturday and Sunday October 14-15. The event is limited to 50 teams and already 46 have nominated for this year’s event. Additional sponsors have been secured and subsequently the tournament will remain one of the most lucrative in northern New South Wales. Members are encouraged to get their teams recorded as soon as possible to avoid disappointment. Social bowls continues with pairs on Wednesday and triples on Friday. All games commence at 1pm and names need to be on the nomination sheets by 11.30am on the respective day of play. All nominations are guaranteed a game and visitors are most welcomed. Results from last week are as follows: Wednesday August 30 Winners: Greg Dickman and Alan Abbott; Runners-up: Ian Brockwell and Kev Corcoran; Encouragement: Ivan Bell and John Telfer. Friday September 1 Winners: Steve Cassidy, Mick Stamp and Dave Coupland; Runners-up: Mat Fester, Rob Unicomb and Alex Horsburg; Encouragement: Gordon Anyan Smith, Rob Baldwin and Peter Oates. Alan Turnbull