Latest News

Yamba Mens Bowls

The Zone One Champion of Club Champion pair’s finals were hosted at the Yamba Bowling Club on Sunday 27th September with Don Plummer and Jim Johnson of Maclean scheduled to represent the Clarence River District Bowling Association. However, due to Don’s unavailability it was necessary for the Maclean combination to find a substitute. Benny Lee was identified as the appropriate substitute. The morning semi-final saw Jim and Benny up against Keith Dawson and Ian Taylor from Kingscliff. The winner of this clash would be rewarded with a place in the afternoon final against Robert Reid and Phillip Sharp representing Lennox Heads. After 21 ends, the Maclean duo came away victors with the score board showing a narrow 24 shot to 20 win. The break between the morning discord and the afternoon final was punctuated by concern in regard to the legality of Benny Lee to participate in the zone finals. After considerable thought and reflection the combination from Lennox Heads decided to lodge a formal protest. Under the RNSWBA Conditions of Play, any player who has participated in the specific competition as part of another team cannot, if eliminated, be used as a substitute for any future portion of the competition. Unfortunately, for the Maclean team it was deemed that Benny’s participation in the 2015 Maclean pairs championship, ultimately won by Jim Johnson and Don Plummer, disqualified the new combination and the Kingscliff team were resurrected for the afternoon’s final against Lennox Head. Undaunted by their time sitting on the sideline, the Kingscliff combination prepared themselves for the final battle against Robert Reid and Phillip Sharp. The result was an incredible game of lawn bowls that saw only 29 shots scored over the 21 ends of play. A remarkable scorecard saw the Lennox Heads’ duo scrap through 16 shots to 13 and move on, as the Zone One representatives, to the state finals scheduled for 7 and 8 November. Meanwhile back at Yamba, the next championship will be the Major Triples Championship with the first three rounds to be contested on the weekend 3rd and 4th October. Nominations closed on Wednesday 30th September and the draw will be posted on the notice board. The nomination sheets for the Club’s 2015 Mixed Fours and the Men’s Handicap Fours Championship are on the notice board with nominations closing on Wednesday 14th and 28th October respectively. The next visits to the Club will be by the Queensland Railway Institute Social Bowls Club on Sunday 11th October and the Park Beach Pirates the following Sunday, 18th October. Social bowls continues with pairs played on Wednesday and triples on Friday. All games commence at 1.00pm and names need to be on the respective nomination sheets by 11.30am on the day of play. Results from last week were: Wednesday 23rd September: Winners: Brian Perrot and Stuart Bell. Runners Up: Gary Metham and Don Freeman. Consolation: Rod O’Brien and John Parkinson. Friday 25th September: Winners: Brian Perrot, Ron Gildersleeve and Stuart Bell. Runners Up: Graham Cole, Bob McKibbin and ‘Maz’ Mazoudier. Consolation: Ron Kubyk and Paul Lozelle. Don Freeman