Yamba Fours and Triples kick off this month

The 2016 Yamba Four’s Championship commences this weekend with preliminary rounds scheduled for Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th January. The final will be played on Saturday 23rd January. Please check the notice board for the draw and commencement times. The 2016 Yamba Major Triples Championship will commence hot on the heels of the Four’s with the initial rounds scheduled for Sunday 24th January. Nominations for the Major Triples close on Wednesday 20th January and the nomination sheets are on the notice board. The 2016 CRDBA Fours Championships in the Open, Reserve and Senior’s categories will be contested on Saturday 30th, Sunday 31st January and Saturday 6th February. The draw for each category will be placed on the notice board once received from the District. The Pennant trial against Park Beach has been confirmed for Saturday 20th February. Players from all grades are required for the trial which will be held at Yamba. A barbeque lunch will precede the trial with activities scheduled to commence at 11am. Please check the notice board for specific details. This is an ideal opportunity to gain some invaluable practice and resolve any specific selection issues prior to the commencement of the 2016 CRDBA Pennant season which is scheduled to commence on Saturday 12th March. Maximum participation is vital if the activity is to proffer paramount benefit to the Club. The 2016 Yamba Community Bowls Battle commenced on Tuesday 12th January. More information about this unique event will be provided in next week’s column. Social bowls continues with pairs played on Wednesday and triples on Friday. All games commence at 1pm and names need to be on the respective nomination sheets by 11.30am on the day of play. All nominations are guaranteed a game and visitors are most welcomed. Results from last week are: Wednesday 6th January: Winners: Craig Zuber and Denis Ford; Runners-Up: Mick Stamp, Neil McKenzie and Glen Franklin (triples game); Consolation: Joe Graham and Tony Miller. Friday 8th January: Winners: Laurie Nutt, Joe Graham and Erik Pedder; Runners-Up: Don Jury, Stuart Bell and Allan Parker; Consolation: Keith Smith, Mark Scobie and Martyn Wood. Don Freeman