Latest News

CRDBA and Zone One Senior Singles Champion: Graham Meany in action

Yamba bowlers unsuccessful in State finals

CRDBA and Zone One Senior Singles Champion: Graham Meany in action
CRDBA and Zone One Senior Singles Champion: Graham Meany in action


The Yamba Bowling and Recreation Club had five members qualify for this year’s State finals that were hosted by the Ettalong Bowling Club last week. Unfortunately, our representatives found the opposition a little tough and failed to advance past the round of 16.
Allan Parker and Alan Abbott, competing in the State Pairs, were defeated 22 shots to 13 by Trevor Gillies and Aaron Spears of Dapto Citizens (Zone 16) in a match where the final score does not truly reflect the closeness of the contest. Bruce Angel and Steve Kliendienst drew the classy combination of Tony Taylor and Crawford Linton from the dominant Belrose Club (Zone 9) and were defeated, but not disgraced, 27 shots to 12. Graham Meany, in the State Senior Singles category, was the unluckiest of all losing by 31 shots to 30 against Phillip Burns of Tura Beach (Zone 7) in a high quality and entertaining contest. Phillip advanced as far as the semi-finals where he was unluckily defeated 31 shots to 28; this further highlighted the significance of Graham’s performance.
The 2015 Handicap Fours Championship will be contested this weekend with the preliminary rounds and quarter-finals on Saturday followed by the semi-finals and final on Sunday. The event promises some interesting contests and spectators are encouraged to support their favoured teams. Games are scheduled for 9am and 1pm on both days.
Nomination sheets for the 2015 Consistency Singles and Stan Brown Shield are on the notice board with nominations closing soon.
Social bowls continues with pairs played on Wednesday and triples on Friday. All games commence at 1pm and names need to be on the respective nomination sheets by 11.30am on the day of play. All nominations are guaranteed a game and visitors are most welcomed. Results from last week were:
Wednesday 28th October:
Winners: Don Jury and Ron Gildersleeve. Runners Up: Col Cohen, Len Ashworth and Erik Pedder. Consolation: Bruce Kilby and Mick Stamp.
Friday 30th October:
Winners: Graeme O’Connor, Russell Platt and Graham Ross. Runners Up: Joe Graham, Lance McCarthy and Wally Flatt. Consolation: Bob Mansfield, David Atkinson and Alan Turnbull.
Don Freeman