Latest News

2015 Stan Brown Shield winners: Joe Graham, Rod O’Brien and Norm Sinclair.

Stan Brown Shield

2015 Stan Brown Shield winners: Joe Graham, Rod O’Brien and Norm Sinclair.
2015 Stan Brown Shield winners: Joe Graham, Rod O’Brien and Norm Sinclair.


The 2015 Stan Brown Shield was contested on Saturday 28th November under trying conditions.
Fourteen teams of triples braved the elements in a quest to get their names etched upon this prestigious trophy. Bruce Blanch has made this competition his own since 2011 being in the winning team in 2011, 2012 and 2014 and also as runner-up in 2013. However, Bruce, and his team mates Basil Glover and Bruce Angel, had to settle for second place with two wins and a draw from their three games. Victors on the day were the ‘evergreen’ Joe Graham, ‘Rocket’ Rod O’Brien and Norn ‘Cyclone’ Sinclair with three wins in a dominant display of two bowl triples.
The 2015 Consistency Singles Championship was finalised on Sunday 29th November with the semi-finals contested in the morning followed by the final in the afternoon. In the first semi-final, Steve Kliendienst had a narrow but decisive 157 points to 143 victory over the tenacious Bob Ballantyne. While the ‘pupil’ Martyn Wood overcame the ‘teacher’ Graham Meany 151 points to 119 in an entertaining contest in the second semi-final. The penultimate end featured eight ‘touchers’ with no bowl further than 18 inches from the jack with Martyn scoring nine points to Graham’s one in a cruel outcome.
The final between two of the club’s young guns, Steve Kliendienst and Martyn Wood, demonstrated for all that the future of the club is in good hands. This game had everything with both bowlers dominating at particular stages of the contest. After 23 ends the two were separated by a single point with Martyn holding a slender 113 to 112 advantage. Martyn managed to control the concluding stages of the match and record a definitive 153 to 142 victory. Martyn has now captured the Major Singles and Consistency Singles Championships in the same year in what many see as a changing of the guard at the club. The final of the 2015 Mixed Fours Championship will be decided on Friday 4th December commencing at 10.00am. The well-credentialed combination of Cathryn Aitchison, Judy Abbott, Martyn Wood and Alan Abbott will tackle the talented fusion of Wendy Ballantyne, Kaye Mason, Allan Parker and Bob Ballantyne in what promises to be a memorable match of mixed bowls.
Nomination sheets for the Bob Ware Memorial Triples and the One Stop Tyre and Automotive Mixed Pairs tournaments, as well as the Ham and Turkey Day and a new event, the Yamba Open Challenge are on the notice board. Nominations for each event are closing soon so please check the notice board for details.
The club will be hosting an RSL Friendship Day on Monday 7th December. All male bowlers are invited to attend this event with games commencing at 9am and a barbeque lunch on offer after the conclusion of the lawn bowls. Cost is $10 to be collected on the day. A participation sheet is on the notice board. The 2015 Mixed Presentation Night is scheduled for Thursday 10th December and a participation sheet is on the notice board. All women’s, men’s and mixed awards and acknowledgements will be presented at this event and attendance is strongly encouraged. Social bowls continues with pairs played on Wednesday and triples on Friday. All games commence at 1pm and names need to be on the respective nomination sheets by 11.30am on the day of play. All nominations are guaranteed a game and visitors are most welcomed. Results from last week were:
Wednesday 25th November:
Winners: Allan Parker and Bill McDonald. Runners Up: Jeff Cook and Peter Cawdrey. Consolation: John Luchetti and Glen Franklin
Friday 27th November:
Winners: Greg Dickman, Ray Schafer and Alan Reed. Runners Up: Mike Hanson, Ray Brown and Mick Stamp. Consolation: Roger Pryor, Geoff Ridgway and Andy Duke-Yonge
Don Freeman