Primary Schools Tennis Championships 2015 Report

ABOVE: NRMA See Breeze Motors Primary School Tennis Championships 2015 participants.
ABOVE: NRMA See Breeze Motors Primary School Tennis Championships 2015 participants.


The 7th annual NRMA/See Breeze Motors Primary Schools Tennis Championship was held at the Ryan Park tennis complex in Maclean last month.
There were 9 schools from the Lower Clarence plus one combi team giving a total of 10 teams competing for the prestigious trophy & winners medallions. With only 2 schools, St Joseph’s & St James being the only schools to win the event (3 wins a piece), there was great spirit amongst all the schools to be there for the finals.
Coach Alan Jurd (LCTA head Coach) said the competition was the closest one ever with many matches coming down to the last games to decide the winner.
“After counting up all the sets played we have never had so many decided by the scoreline of 6-5, it was so close. In fact the match between Lawrence & Yamba came down to the final point of the match with Lawrence prevailing to go through to the semi finals”
Mr Jurd said all the children represented their schools admirably and there had been no disciplinary matters at all.
“It was played with great sportsmanship”. He said.
Defending champs St Joey’s bowed out to Maclean in the semi finals in a tight match 4-2.
All eyes were then on the 2nd semi final between Palmers Island (last years runners up) & Lawrence.
The sets scores were locked at 3-3 with Palmers going through on games total.
In the final Palmers Island proved a touch stronger edging out Maclean 4-2 to take out their first ever title.
Well done to the Palmers Island team of Clarence Skelton (c), Max Hutchinson, Lachy Skelton & Bree Freeman.
The Best & Fairest medal went to Dean Martin (Lawrence Primary).
Final standings were: 1 – Palmers Island; 2 – Maclean; 3 – Lawrence; 4 – St Joey’s; 5 – Gulmarrad; 6 – Yamba; 7 – Harwood; 8 – Iluka; 9 – Chatsworth; 10 – Combi team.