Latest News

O’Grady and Townsend Champions

The 27-hole Foursomes Championship winners were the team of Sharyn O’Grady and Jen Townsend. Image: Contributed
A dry and barren course was not an ideal scenario for our 27-hole Ladies Club Foursomes Championships last Wednesday and was in complete contrast to the wet conditions of the 2016 event. With a few ladies disliking, at the best of times, the format of Foursomes golf, the hot temperature of the day and the dusty course only added to their frustrations. Many pairings were unable to make use of the extra-long run on the course and found themselves in a spot of trouble, at times ending in hazards, behind trees, up trees and in bunkers. Those that managed to keep it on the fairways, still managed to find difficulty with the tricky greens at present. The 27-hole Foursomes Championship winners were the team of Jen Townsend and Sharyn O’Grady with a score of 136. This is the first time that Jen and Sharyn have partnered together to win this event, although Sharyn has previously been a winner in 2005 and 2006 with Melissa Clark, in 2010 with Renae Amos and in 2015 with Courtney Fuller. It was not an easy run for Jen and Sharyn during the 27-holes. Despite steadily coasting through the first 18 holes, the last nine was not without its dramas. With a nice birdie first time around on the par three 6th, it was a nasty quadruple bogey the next time (24th hole) that put paid to their thoughts that they had “blown” their chances. The idea of the Championship title further diminished when, on the par four 8th (26th hole), another “quaddie” was carded and, a little cursing came to the fore, with the certain feeling that Jen and Sharyn’s day was over. However, as the saying goes, you never give up in a game of golf. The championship bridesmaids for the second year in a row were the pairing of the aunt and niece, Jean Dahl and Janette Blair on 137. The team of Jean and Janette have been past winners in 2008 and 2012, with Jean also being a multiple times winner with various partners over the years. Div 2 winners were Val Franey and Sandra Gleeson on 152 from Fay Shields and Soo McPherson with 154 c/b. Overall nett winners and, the recipients of the trophy kindly donated by Jan Hamilton and Mary Katte, were Sonya Baker and Mary Atkins with a great 104. R/up were Judy McFarlane and Eve Macpherson on 110 ¾. Div 1 nett winners were Noeline Smith and Chrissy Danvers with 114 ¼ with Jean Dahl and Janette Blair the r/up on 114 ½. Div 2 nett winners were Sharyn Rowles and Liz Smith on 111 ¼ from Val Franey and Sandra Gleeson on 111 ½. NTP’s: Marianne Mannell/Shirley Goodger (1st), Jen Townsend/Sharyn O’Grady (6th), Kathy McMullan/Julie White (10th) and Norma Carter/Anna Bidstrup (17th). Balls to 116 nett. Kudos to the team of golden super troopers on the day, O.B.E. members, Mary Katte and Bev Snowdon, who completed their gruelling 27-holes in not the most pleasant of conditions, without fuss nor fanfare. Friday’s Stableford catered for 24 starters. Sally Beresford is having a welcome return to a timely swing and groove with her golf and saw her patience rewarded with the winner’s cheque following her 38 points. Di Chapman took the r/up prize on a c/b from Helen Hopwood with 37. Marianne Mannell took the Good Intent Hotel sponsored pin prize on the 6th and Shirlay Avery was the winner on the 17th with her clever second shot. Five balls were awarded to 34 points c/b. A great turnout of 18 players participated on Saturday in the 18-hole Weekend Foursomes Championships with many having another crack following the Championships on the Wednesday. Making it two from two attempts, Sharyn O’Grady took her second Championship for the week. On Saturday, she teamed with Sue Petty to post 87 hits to take the win and 18-hole Weekend Foursomes Championship. Sue was a winner of the Weekend Foursomes Championship last year, partnering with Heather Purtill. Runners up, for the second year in a row, were the team of Elaine Shand and Janeen Roberts one shot adrift on 88. Saturday’s nett event in conjunction was won by the team of Shirley Goodger and Julie White with 71 nett. Ball winners were Sharyn/Sue (71.5) and Janeen/Elaine (74 c/b). Sharyn/Sue also just pipped Shirley/Julie for the NTP on the 1st Winners of the 2017 WGNSW Medals are Heather Robinson (Div 1), Kathy McMullan (Div 2), Liz Smith (Div 3) and Chrissy Danvers (W/end). These players are now eligible to compete at the WGNR District Medal Playoff at Coraki on Friday October 20. We wish our players good golfing and safe travel as they head up to Byron Bay on Friday of this week to compete at the WGNSW 4BBB Classic District Playoff. From the list of qualifiers from our club round held on August 9, we will be represented at Byron Bay by Kathy McMullan/Helen Packwood, Jane Wolfe/Robyn Wilkes and Janeen Roberts/Lyn Dahl. Julie White