Latest News

Maclean Women’s Bowls

On Tuesday November 10 President Margaret Stallard congratulated Judy Parkes and Sandra Ferro for their sterling effort at the state final of the Pairs Championship in Tuncurry recently. Although not winners they played well on a difficult green.
Championship winners are reminded that a group photo for the magazine will be taken on Tuesday November 24 before lunch.
Entries for Ham and Turkey Day on Tuesday December 1 close at 4.00pm on Sunday November 29. Please be at the club by 8.30am for the draw.
There is a list on the board for the Christmas party on Tuesday December 8 which closes on Tuesday December 1.
Yamba One Stop Tyre and Automotive is sponsoring a Mixed Three Bowl Pairs tournament on Sunday December 6 with entries closing at 4.30pm on Wednesday December 2. Cost is $50 per team which includes lunch. Play will start at 9.00am.
Next year bowls will recommence with a social day on Thursday January 28. The Club Championship Pairs will start on Tuesday February 2.
Members wishing to purchase uniform clothing should add their names to the list on the board.
Representatives from the Red Cross were present selling Christmas cards, diaries, etc and the club also gave them a generous donation.
In the L J Hooker game the winners, with the biggest margin, were L McKay, P Stockings and M Stallard who defeated L Pearcey, I Whitney and M Ryan 30-19.
Other results: D Scott, L Connor, C Byrum (voucher winners) d L Bodycote, W Haselum, S Squires; M Brisbane, E O’Keefe, E Triffitt d M Combley, J Watkinson, J Hannah (consolation prize); M Tomek, G Parsons, M Grimes d E Golden, N Phelps, D Robson; P Appo, C Power, K Hudson d L Rae, S Keighran, J Parkes; V Nicholson, C Johnson, V Daniels d D Newton, M Crelley, S Rogers. L Connor was drawn out for a special free game prize.
No bowls were played yesterday, Tuesday November 16, as the majority of members were away on a trip to Queensland.
Maggie Combley

X