Community News

Maclean & District Orchid Society

The Annual General Meeting took place on Saturday July 20. Congratulations to all the title holders, and to all who continue to contribute to the floral and friendly cheer of the Club.

The main title holders this year: president – Terry Bird; VP 1 – Ken Woods; VP 2 – Judy Abbott; secretary – Sue King; assistant – Ian Harris; treasurer – Helen Connolly; assistant – Beth Organ. Congratulations also to the NSW Orchid Society’s Meritorious Award winner – Terry Bird; and to the Club Person of the Year – Helen Connolly.

There were 65 beautiful plants were benched: judges choice orchid Paphiopedilum Neridah ‘Rudak’ – Terry & Penny Bird; popular vote orchid, Vanda Susan Ong Ah Mooi ‘Sweetheart’ – Peter Zylstra; both judge’s choice and pv flower Rhipsalis pilocarpa – Ken Woods.

There are guest speakers lined up, as we also look ahead to our Yamba Pre-Show display and Spring Show at the Maclean Bowls Club later next month.

Next meeting is on Saturday August 17 at the Presbyterian Church Hall, Church Street Maclean. Plants benched by 1pm, and after the judging the meeting begins, 1.30pm. Lucky door and raffle prizes are included, plus afternoon tea.

Penny Bird