All smiles for Lower Clarence RC rowers with the NRRA trophies they won for the season and medals from Iluka/SGHS regatta. Image: Contributed

Lower Clarence rowers bring home NRRA trophies

Lower Clarence rowers bring home NRRA trophies

At the final NRRA club rowing regatta for the 2018/19 season Lower Clarence Rowing Club rowers won the NRRA Club pointscore trophy as well as the Junior and Open pointscore trophies for the season. Cody Ellem-Allem won the pointscore for the Men’s Master single scull.

There was a bag of gold won by Lower Clarence rowers at the Iluka/South Grafton High School regatta making it was a great day for everyone and nice finish to the season as you will see by the results.

Royce McIntyre won the Men’s Novice single scull and was 3rd in the MU15/16 single. Royce and Zayne Fischer also won the MU15/16 double scull. Niamh Hopkins won the WU15/16 single scull with Molly Dobbin 3rd. Molly and Ruby Chamberlain won the WU15/16 double scull. In the Women’s Open single Kylie Duff was 2nd and Clara Samms was 3rd. Ethan Davis won the Men’s Open single scull with Duncan Fischer 2nd. Ethan and Duncan also won the MO double scull.

Ashley Luland won the WU17 single scull with Aimee Jeffrey 3rd. Lachlan Maxwell won the MU 17 single scull in fine style and Andre Kendall was 3rd. Lachlan was also 3rd in the Men’s Hcp single. In the Women’s Hcp double Illah San Andres and Niamh Hopkins were 2nd.

The Masters crew of Mandy Steel, Joanne Meehan, Clare Millist and Gaye Pullyn (Mur’bah) won the Women’s Master Hcp quad.  Clare Millist was 3rd in her division of the WM Hcp single scull. Cody Ellem-Allem was 2nd in the Men’s Master Hcp scull. In the WM Hcp double Joanne Meehan and Mandy Steel were 2nd in their division. Jessica Hart and Kylie Duff were 2nd in the other division with Lisa Plummer and Clare 3rd.

The Women’s Master sweep crew of Lisa Plummer, Jessica Hart, Kylie Shannon, Kylie Duff and April Shannon (cox) won the WM/WHcp 4+. Then the girls teamed up with Armidale R.C. sweep rowers for a great row to win the Mix 8+.

I would like to thank Keryn Saunders, Dee McIntyre, Fiona Smith, Cathy Fergusson and Jacqui Johnson for their time spent keeping us all safe on the water as boat race officials.

Thank you Harold Kratz, Clare Millist, Kylie Duff and Keryn Saunders for the hours they spend coaching. Many thanks to Keryn, Chris Shannon and Mike Samms for towing the boat trailer to and from regattas and also to all the parents who have help during the season. All helpers are much appreciated and regattas do not run on their own.

Clare Millist