Overall best nett winner Gayle Armour (Iluka) with Iluka President Ann Dean.

Iluka Ladies Open Day

Monday July 29 saw a big field of ladies playing a Single Stableford for Iluka Ladies Open Day. The weather was great, the course in top condition and we were happy to welcome ladies from near and far for a very enjoyable and friendly day, despite some players encountering bunkers and trees.

Big thanks must go to the major sponsors:  Paula Ravet, Ros Jacobs, Pat Shepherd, Lynn Robertson, Gwen Finlayson and Anne Lockyer. Also to the donors of the fruit trays for NTPs: Lynn Briggs, Jan Ellery and Sue Burgess and to all the members who donated raffle prizes, cooked soups, helped with morning tea and those cooked the slices and cakes. Without the generosity and efforts of so many and the committee who worked tirelessly, this day would not be the success it has always been. 


Overall Best Nett – Gayle Armour (Iluka) 38, r/up – Chris Cavallo (Iluka) 37.

Best Nett: Div 1 – Darrie Nightingale (Yamba) 31 c/b; Div 2 – Louis Fulton (Teven) 35; Div 3 – Lesley Love (Yamba) 36.

Runner up: Div 1 – Sheree Forsythe (Maclean) 31; Div 2 – Leigh Robertson (Yamba) 34; Div 3 – Sandra Morrow (Iluka) 35.

2nd r/up: Div 1 – Gail Ferrier (W/Evans Head) 30 c/b; Div 2 – Trish Nolan (Lismore) 33; Div 3 – Verna Wright (Yamba) 30.

3rd r/up: Div 1 – Chris Forrester (Maclean) 30 c/b; Div 2 – Cath Parker (Maclean) 33; Div 3 – Sue Wilson (Yamba) 29 c/b.

4th r/up: Div 1 – Laurice Poore (Iluka) 30 c/b; Div 2 – Pam Ravet (Iluka) 32; Div 3 – Di Cahill  (Lismore) 29.

Draw of cards: Div 1 – Noeline Smith (Grafton); Div 2 – Sue Pittavino (Teven); Div 3 – Cath Husselbee (W/Evans Head).

Nature walk: Div 1 – Ruth Bell (W/Evans Head); Div 2 – Kathy Apps (Maclean); Div 3 – Helen Anderson (Coraki).

NTPs: 6/15 Div 1 – Gail Ferrier (E/Evans Head); 8/17 Div 1 – Ligouri Kent (Iluka); 1/10 Div 2 – Pattie Bond (Iluka); 8/17 Div 2 – Kim Lipscombe (Yamba); 1/10 Div 3 – Verka Dadswell (Lismore); 6/15 Div 3 – Pat Huxtable (Lismore).

Ball rundown: R Brockwell, H Taranto, H Gibbons, L White, S Petty, L Kent, P Bond, M McInotsh, J Simmons, K Lipscombe, F McClymont, P James, D Sigle, H Purtill, G Bishop, N Fury, P Huxtabel, L Bolger, C Kembrey, J Fagan, G Czarnota, D Coster, S Olly.

Iluka would like to thank all the ladies who travelled to play in the Open Day and hope to see them again next year.

Advance notice: Iluka ladies will be holding their High Tea on Monday September 2 at 11am. Names will be required when the notice goes up on the noticeboard.

Pat Shepherd

Runners up in 3 grades (l-r) Sandra Morrow (Iluka); Sheree Forsyth (Maclean) and Leigh Robertson (Yamba).
Best nett winners (l-r) Div 2 – Louis Fulton (Teven,); Div 1 – Darrie Nightingale (Yamba); Div 3 – Lesley Love (Yamba).