Huge rainfall but Sunday was still on for Yamba bowlers

Mother Nature flexed her muscle on Saturday ensuring that the entrants in the 2016 Mixed Pairs Championships had to wait an extra 24 hours before they could commence their quest for the title. With no play possible on Saturday, rounds one and two were deferred until Sunday with a couple of teams not too keen to brave the elements even with the worst of the conditions well and truly on their way south. Head green keeper, Graeme Brown, again provided to competitors with a great playing surface considering that 183mm of rain fell at the club in the preceding 24 hours and as with most challenges, perseverance, determination and a willingness to adapt paid dividends. In the morning rounds Joan Scadden and Alan Reed had a tremendous tussle with Val Terry and Ray Schafer eventually winning the match 21-17; Graham and Chris Cole capitalised on a late mistake by Barbara and Tom Cross to win their contest 19-18; Kaye Mason and Martyn Wood were always in control over Cathryn Aitchison and a dispirited Alan Abbott winning 21-10; Jane Pearson and Greg Johnson overcame the courageous combination of Jamie Gordon and Raels McKibbin 20-16; Monica Conlan and Wayne Curtis defeated last year’s runners up Robyn McPherson and Allan Parker 21-19; Marjorie Thompson and Peter Forrester had to battle hard to defeat Jenny and Mark Scobie 19-16; Judy Abbott and Steve Kliendienst controlled their match against Helen and Dave Atkinson winning 22-12; while Judy and Norm Sinclair had a desperate battle against the prevailing duo of Wendy and Bob Ballantyne winning a nail-biter 17-16. Conditions for the afternoon round did not improve noticeably, however the competitors again took to the greens with a steely determination to do the best with what had been presented. Although the games were hard fought and entertaining for the hardy group of spectators that had assembled, the scores were not as close as the morning contests: Ruthie Fletcher and Stuart Bell defeated Marilyn and Neil Franey 21-8; Denise Burey and Graham Meany overcame the tenacious pairing of Sonia and Joe Graham 26-15; Judy Abbott and Steve Kliendienst advanced to the quarter-finals by overcoming the irrepressible Judy Button and Bob McKibbin 25-12; Judy and Norm Sinclair controlled their match against Cheryl Deveney and Paul Lozelle winning 23-8 and now must be one of the favourites for the title; Marjorie Thompson and Peter Forrester maintained momentum with a 26-8 victory over Monica Conlan and Wayne Curtis; Kaye Mason and Martyn Wood combined well to defeat Jane Pearson and Greg Johnson 22-14; and the championship surprise packets, Chris and Graham Cole, kept their campaign alive with a 20-11 win over Joan Scadden and Alan Reed. Due to the loss of play on Saturday and the congestion of the bowls calendar, the quarter and semi-finals will not be played until Saturday 23rd July. Please check the men’s bowls notice board for details. The Yamba Bowling and Recreation Club will host the Zone One Grade 4, 5 and 6 Pennant play-offs on the weekend of 25 and 26 June. This event will lead into the Grade 3 State Pennant Finals to be held at the Club at the end of July when all 16 zones will be represented bringing hundreds of competitors, support staff and supporters to the area for three days of high quality lawn bowls. Please check the notice board for details. The next travelling bowlers foray is a trip to Urunga and Macksville on the weekend of 9 and 10 July. A participation sheet, with all details, is on the Travelling Bowler’s noticeboard. Get in quick to avoid disappointment. This trip will be followed by a visit by the Queensland Veterans on Saturday 20th August and a reciprocal visit to Yamba by the Park Beach Pirates on Sunday 28th August. Social bowls continues with pairs on Wednesday and triples on Friday. All games commence at 1pm and names need to be on the respective nomination sheets by 11.30am on the day of play. All nominations are guaranteed a game and visitors are most welcomed. Results from last week are: Wednesday 1st June: Winners: Col Holst and Chris Lindsay. Runners-Up: Joe Graham and Peter Glover. Consolation: Neil Franey and Mark Scobie Friday 27th May: Winners: Laurie Thompson, Bill Cox and Peter Forrester. Runners-Up: Peter Glover, Neil McKenzie and Glen Franklin. Consolation: Bryan Groom, Ron Buchholz and Frank Pate. Don Freeman