Close Major-Minor competition expected

Capture   Some intriguing match ups in the first round of the Yamba Major/Minor pairs on Tuesday September 1 created a lot of interest in it and the rounds to follow. With a total of 19 teams entered, it is really positive to see so many newer and less experienced bowlers getting the opportunity to play pairs at this more intensive level with and against some of the more accomplished players. It bodes well for a very close competition. Last year’s winners, the talented team of Pam Conley and Marjorie Thompson had a tough first round draw against the rapidly improving Raels McKibbin and highly credentialed skip Chris Cole, a relatively new transfer into the club. S Owen, a newcomer from Queensland teamed up with the wily Marie Stone and took on the ever dangerous Judy Button who combined with Jane Pearson. Glynis Hall (sub for J Miller) another new member, and Wendy Ballantyne were up against the more experienced Helen Scott and Robyn McPherson. While the results of these games were not available at the time of going to press, the winners proceeded to Round 2. The remaining 13 teams had first round byes, and Round 2 will get underway on Thursday September 3. There should be some close encounters here, too. Gabby Freeman and Sonia Graham will meet the winner of the M Thompson vs C Cole encounter. It is hard to choose which among all the Round 2 games have the potential to be the closest, with match ups like Helen Atkinson/Judy Sinclair vs Jan Funnell/Monica Conlan and Bev Shatte/Lyn Olssen vs Maria Sakac/Judy Abbott possibly stand-outs . But all will be tough, and the remaining games are: Ruth Fletcher/Joan Scadden vs Barb Briers/Wynn Bell; Beryl Mills/Bev Lawson vs Kerry Pedder/Cathryn Aitchison; Carol Casement/Isabel Neill vs Colleen Beard/Gwen Hoskin and Marg Wall/ Kaye Mason vs Cheryl Deveny/Denise Burey. Meanwhile, social bowls continued last week and the lucky rink winners on Tuesday 25 were Helen Atkinson, Wendy Ballantyne and Monica Conlan, who defeated Wynn Bell, Robyn McPherson and Marjorie Thompson in a game of 2 bowl triples (in preparation for Inter-district). Winners of the lucky runners up prize were Elizabeth Moodie, Roz Moore & Joan Scadden who defeated the consolation prize winners, M Watt, Gloria Davis and Carol Casement. In other games, C Beard, J Miller & J Sinclair d K Schubert, B Neilsen & D Collier; S Graham, V Terry & D Burey d S Graham, J Pearson & C Cole; B Mills, R Hippisley & J Button d J Jeanes, R Fletcher & K Mason and G Hall, M Sakac, L Olssen d R McKibbin, M Wall & J Abbott. Members are reminded that the nomination sheets for the Consistency Singles competition, in both Major and Minor Divisions, are now on the board. Wendy Ballantyne