Latest News

2017 Lower Clarence primary schools tennis champs

From the left – Paul Skippen (NRMA/See Breeze Motors), Matthew Taylor (c), Nathan Hayman, Sammy Hayman, Yayden Campbell and Kaai McCartin. Image: Contributed.
Last week saw the completion of the 9th Annual Lower Clarence NRMA/See Breeze Primary Schools Tennis Champs conducted at the Ryan Park Tennis Complex Maclean. Nine schools competed for the prestigious NRMA/See Breeze trophy with top seeds Yamba Primary proving victorious over No.2 seeds Harwood Primary by 5 sets to 1 and so completing back to back titles. Yamba player Sammy Hayman said that they were keen to do a repeat and equal the record of St James Primary as the only schools to win three titles in a row. Head coach Alan Jurd said the standard of play and sportsmanship displayed this year was of the highest order with many in the large spectator crowd treated to some high quality tennis all day. The final standings of all schools this year: 1. Yamba; 2. Harwood; 3. Gulmarrad; 4. St Joey’s; 5. Maclean; 6. Iluka; 7. Pacific Valley; 8. Cowper; 9. Palmers Island.