Latest News

The annual LCACA ‘8×8 small works exhibition’ at Ferry Park Gallery Maclean will run until 26 April.

Small works exhibition opens

Lynne Mowbray |

The Lower Clarence Arts and Crafts Association (LCACA) held their annual ‘8×8 small works exhibition’ opening, at Ferry Park Gallery Maclean on Friday night.

This year 115 works were exhibited in the Open section and 26 in the junior sections.

This year’s theme ‘The Journey’ saw entries from Sydney, Newcastle, Queensland, Coffs Harbour, Ballina as well as many entries from within the Clarence Valley Council (CVC) area.

Each year the exhibition brings together the collective ideas (and interpretation) on a theme, chosen by the LCACA.

The exhibition curators said that it is amazing how the theme is represented and the different styles and mediums (which were) used.

The LCACA would like to acknowledge the support by art groups and art teachers who have encouraged members and students to participate.

Curator Suzanne Monin said that this year they had quite a few artists who had entered the exhibition for the first time.

“It’s a wonderful opportunity for artists who don’t have a lot of confidence, to have a go and put themselves out there,” Ms Monin said.

LCACA 8 x 8 Prize Winners 2019

Section 1   Open
1st:        ‘The Navigator’ Robyn Tychsen 
2nd        ‘On the Tide’ Lynne Gawne
3rd:        ‘Two Years in France’ Jenni Gander
HC:       ‘Exploring’ Karl Rubli
HC:       ‘Journey of Heroes’ Lynne Gerhrke
HC:       ‘The Journey Ahead’ Honi Reifler

Section 2     4-7 Years
1st:         ‘Bushwalking with Dad’ Zeke Reifler 
2nd:        ‘Journey to Grandma and Pa’s’ Isla Stuart 
3rd:        ‘Dinosaur Moving Rocks’ Alexander Jagoe
HC        ‘In My Garden’ April Skumavk
HC        ‘Egg to Butterfly’ Scarlet Skumavk
HC        ‘The Volcano’ Ruby Versace

Section 3    8-11 Years
1st:         ‘Jeffrey’s Cocoon’ Zoe Cameron
2nd:        ‘The Hike’ Shanyni Reifler
3rd:        ‘Flower to Hive’ Mekenzie Jane Jagoe
HC        ‘Elephant Passage’ Mitchell Kelly
HC        ‘The Journey of Indi’ Alex Sowell
HC        ‘African Wild Dog’ Neva Stevens
HC        ‘Bee’s World’ Cooper Rumph

Section 4    12-16 Years
1st:         ‘Heaven For A Bookworm’ Macey Smith
2nd :       ‘The Adventures of Electron Man’       Solomon Reifler
3rd:        ‘Alice’ Hailey Smith
HC        ‘Getaway!’ Erika Wagstaff
HC        ‘Through the Storm’ Sophie Brien