Latest News

Reserve trust volunteers receive long service awards

Thirty-one community volunteers from the Clarence and Richmond valleys have been recognised with long service awards for their role in managing local Crown reserves, Clarence MP Chris Gulaptis has announced. He said the Service Recognition Awards were developed as a way of appreciating and providing recognition to members who have served close to ten years or more on local trust boards. “Volunteers are the backbone of our local communities and the work of these trustees in maintaining our public assets is highly valued,” he said. “They have dedicated countless volunteer hours over many years in looking after our public reserves, including public halls, parks and sportsgrounds, some of whom have served 20-plus years, and two individuals, Robert Fahey from Waterview Heights and Ronald Doyle from Evans Head, who have served on more than one reserve. “This is a remarkable effort and on behalf of the community I thank them and congratulate them on being recognised for their contribution.” Clarence Valley awardees are: John Young (Harwood Public Hall Reserve Trust), Michelle Irwin and Peter Dickson-Smith (Glenreagh Public Recreation Reserve Trust), Henry Stevens and Kay Jeffery (Iluka Koala Reserve Trust), Eileen Tyler (Ashby Community Centre & Public Recreation Reserve Trust), Basil Moran and Keith Moran (Tyndale Flood Refuge Reserve Trust), Brian Phillips (Whiporie Public Recreation Reserve Trust) and Neil Winters (Copmanhurst Recreation Reserve Trust). Meanwhile, this year’s NSW/ACT Regional Achievement and Community Awards nominations close tomorrow Thursday August 13. Nominate online at or contact the awards office on 1300 735 445.