Latest News

Grafton Bridge Club

The Grafton Bridge Club’s annual general meeting was held on Friday 11th September. In her report, president Frances Hiatt outlined the club’s successful year with special mention of the highly-regarded annual Bridge Congress held in July. The election of office bearers saw Frances Hiatt returned as president. Heather Roland was elected secretary and Cheryl Shanley is the Treasurer. Vice-presidents are Pamela Dougherty and Dennis Ford. Geoffrey Hiatt was elected Tournament Director and Jenny Russell is the publicity officer. Steve Llewellyn was thanked for his role as honorary auditor and has accepted that position for another year. Marie Brien retired from her position as a vice-president and was thanked for her work for the club over several years. Thursday 10th September A seven-table Mitchell movement was played. North/South winners were Delma Frawley and Claire Henry with Marie Brien and Cheryl Shanley in second place. Third were Glad Durrington and Jeanette Bennett. The East/West winners were Joan Stephenson and Jean Felton. In second place were Denise Llewellyn and Ian Huxley with Heather Roland and Dennis Ford third. Friday 11th September In a six-table Howell competition Frank Campbell and John Sheehan came first. Second were Peter McGruer and Mavis Smith; Joan Stephenson and Jean Felton came third. South Grafton Bridge Club Tuesday 8th September A stunning win by Delma Frawley and Jean Felton was the highlight of a seven-table Howell event. In second place were Pat McLennan and Matt Staehelin. Kerry and Michael Harding came third.