Latest News

Crowe Horwath Yamba Open

Two hundred and ten players from 45 different golf clubs convened on Yamba links on the weekend for the annual Crow Horwath Yamba Open with many single figure markers chasing the title. With Saturday being brilliant sunshine and the Greens running true, some visitors appeared to have little trouble reading them with the winners of the day being as follows: Saturday Gross A Grade winner Scott Read (Redland Bay), A Grade Gross r/up was Greg Leedham (Tocumwal); A Grade Nett winner Chris Holst (Yamba) from Mackenzie Wright (Yamba); B Grade Gross winner Bruce Lulham (Yamba) from Mark Winks (Redland Bay); B Grade Nett winner Warwick Marshall (Arundel Hills) from James McCormack (Redland Bay); C Grade Gross winner Col Cromack (Yamba) from Jon Brown (Mt Warren Park); C Grade Nett winner Barry Norden (Yamba) from Michael Davis (Redland Bay). NTPs: on the 3rd Paul Fairbanks (Burleigh) 38cm, 9th Greg Faulkner (Wynnum) 152cm, 10th Darrell Kellahan (Coolangatta Tweed) 230cm, David Rogerson (Nudgee) 84cm, 17th Mark Winks (Redland Bay) 152cm. Longest drives Saturday: A Grade Andrew Boulter (Coolangatta), B Grade Craig Duthie (Redland Bay), C Grade Colin Teese (Windaroo Lakes). Balls to 75 Nett or better. Sunday saw passing showers with a few downpours but nothing to stop the 210 players from finishing their rounds. A Grade Gross Jesse Butt (Burleigh) from Steven Alford (Grafton); A Grade Nett Glen Wolfenden (Nudgee) from Warren Toms (Yamba); B grade Gross Greg Wyllie (Yamba) from Michael Shirlow (Yamba); B Grade Nett Scott Mills (Pacific GC) from Jeff Amos (Redland Bay); C Grade Gross Colin Teese (Windaroo Lakes) from Ronald Gould (Redland Bay); C Grade Nett Chad Morgan (Burleigh) from Greg Madge (Burleigh). NTPs Sunday: 3rd Ken Barr (Burleigh) 53cm, 9th Trevor Lobegeier (Wynnum) 118cm, 10th Mark Winks (Redland Bay) 344cm, 12th Darren Imber (Redland Bay) 105cm, 17th Dom Kennedy (Pacific) 120cm. Longest Drives Sunday: A Grade Matt Weir (Ballina), B Grade Craig Duthie (Redland Bay), C Grade Nathan Sadler (Parkwood). Balls to 75 Nett or better. 36 hole winners A Grade and tournament winner Andrew Boulter (Coolangatta) with 152 gross from Matt Weir (Ballina) with 154 gross, A grade Nett winner David Bruton (Yamba) 139 Nett, A grade Nett r/up Steve Hodgson (Yamba) with 143 nett. B grade Gross winner John Hogan (Yamba/Burleigh) with 159 Gross from Angus McDouall (Armidale) with 168 Gross, B Grade Nett winner Richard Cross (Coolangatta) 135 Nett from Rohan Smiles (Yamba) 144 Nett, C Grade Gross Troy Lewis (Windaroo Lakes) 174 Gross from Peter Hall (Yamba) with 179 Gross, C Grade Nett Kelvin Finney (Nudgee) 139 Nett from Nathan Sadler (Parkwood) 141 nett. Thanks to all involved in making it another successful tournament and something that is a showcase for the town of Yamba, a special thanks to the generous members of the Yamba Golf Club who allowed their carts to be used by the visitors. Seafire Steak and Seafood Open Friday Ambrose One hundred and seventy eight pairs contested the 2 person Ambrose with the winning team of John Brown and Chris Myers (Mt Warren Park) returning a score of 61.25 Nett edging out the team of Rick Addinsall and Ash Beatty (Burleigh) with 62.25 on a c/b. The team of Gavin Landon and Neil Graae (Coolangatta) were 3rd and 4th went to Mark Brown and Glenn McLaren (Parkwood) with 62.75 and 5th went to Michael Pryor and Jari Salminen (Nudgee) 63.25. NTPs: Glen McLaren (Parkwood) on the 3rd, Jarrad Thompson (Coolangatta) on the 9th at 80cm, the 10th was Jari Salminen (Nudgee) 40cm, the 12th was Trevor Wolfenden (Nudgee) 50cm, the 17th went to Peter Cook (Redland Bay) 166. Balls to 66 Nett. Thursday Stableford One hundred and fifty players warmed up for the open on Thursday contesting the single Stableford with plenty of visitors. A Grade winner with 42pts was Sid Erskine from Colin Lindsay (Burleigh) with 40pts and 3rd went to the ever green John Hogan 38pts. A Reserve was Des Hall 41pts from Andre Rizk with 39pts on a c/b from Bill Williams 39pts 3rd. The winner of B grade was Kevin Eckersley with 41pts on a c/b from Bruce Petith 41pts and 3rd was David Atkinson with 37pts. C Grade winner was the last person off the course as usual in Vic White with 38pts on a c/b from John Dwyer 38pts and 3rd went to Peter White 37pts. NTPs: on the SeaFire Steak and Seafood 3rd Max Uebergang 215cm, the Peter Campbell 9th was Ken Taylor 450cm, the SeaFire 10th was Andy Duke-Young 308cm, the 12th Yamba Barber shop hole went to Mark Brown 220cm and the SeaFire 17th was taken out by Greg LaForest at 487cm. Balls went to 35pts with 17 on the back. Chris Durrington