Latest News

CRDWBA Annual Gala Day

CRWDBA Winning Team No 15 L-R M Sakac J Button J Funnell and L Demmery.
  Thursday, September 29 saw lady bowlers from the Clarence River District’s seven clubs converge on Maclean Bowling Club for the District’s Annual Gala Day. While these ladies perused the trading table and patronised the various competitions Maclean’s president Margaret Stallard handed the club and its facilities to District president Alma Bowling who welcomed the visitors, saying how lucky they were that the early clouds had disappeared leaving sunshine in their place and hoped they would all enjoy their day before inviting them to morning tea. After morning tea Lyn Olsson (match committee) read the cards, telling the players it was a fun day and to enjoy their game and in no time the usual friendly rivalry and laughter prevailed until the bell signalled the end of play and the players returned to the dining room for a most enjoyable lunch. President Alma then presented a cheque to Grafton District Services president Dawn Lawson and Annette Williams, members of the Senior Fours Championship winners, to help with their expenses when they contest the State Championships to be held at Tuncurry Beach Bowling Club on October 24 – 25. Competitions and raffles were duly drawn and prizes presented. Past President Judy Abbott conducted an auction of the remaining items on the trading table and in her own inimitable style caused much laughter and amusement. Lucky teams were drawn and presented. Team No 9 – P. Kennedy, S. Grieve P. Lollback and J. Abbott (prize donated by South Grafton WBC presented by president J. Kowal). Team No 15 – M. Sakac, J. Funnell and J. Button (prize donated by Jim Demmery presented by District secretary L. Demmery). Team No 18 – J. Pearson, R. McDonald and N. Graham (prize donated by Clarence River district and presented by president A. Bowling). Shirley Woodward