Bumper visitor numbers at Yamba

The good times just keep rolling on the greens of the Yamba Bowling and Recreation Club! Last week we had over two hundred happy holiday makers enjoy barefoot bowls, ten four member teams from the local community face off in the Yamba Community Bowls Battle, a large number of social bowlers enjoy the Wednesday and Friday social bowls sessions and a weekend of top class triples bowls on display in the club’s Major Triples Championship. The preliminary rounds of the triples saw the defending champions, Jeff Cook, Bruce Blanch and Tom Morrow, power through to the quarter-finals with a comprehensive 35 shot to nine win over the team of Neil Franey, Norm Anderson and Norm Greenup. In other matches Erik Pedder’s team of Jamie Gordon and Rod O’Brien accounted for Ron Gildersleeve, Don Jury and Stuart Bell 29 to 11; Dave Crawford, Bruce Angel and Steve Kliendienst overcame Dave Coupland, Frank Pate and John Luchetti 31 to 20; Allan Parker, Norm Sinclair and Graham Meany defeated Basil Glover, Steve Grodzki and Denis Ford 28 to 12; Peter Forrester’s team of Laurie Thompson and Bill Cox overcame Greg Dickman, Greg Johnson and Martyn Wood 26 to 18; and Don Freeman, Bill McDonald and Brad Johnson persevered to defeat Steve Burns, Mick Stamp and Glenn Franklin 31 to 12. However, the game of the round was between Alan Abbott’s star team including Wayne Curtis and Ray Schafer who survived a tremendous scare to down Dave Atkinson, Allan Marr and Alan Turnbull 24 shots to 23, thanks to Alan Abbott’s final bowl. The quarter-finals witnessed four entertaining, but totally different, confrontations. Brad Johnson skipped his team to a 34 shot to 12 victory over Erik Pedder’s trio; Alan Abbott, Wayne Curtis and Ray Schafer made amends for their earlier issues with a dominant 26 shot to 18 victory over Laurie Thompson, Bill Cox and Peter Forrester; and Graham Meany made sure that he and his team of Alan Parker and Norm Sinclair advanced to the semi-finals with a close but well-deserved 22 shot to 20 win over Dave Crawford, Bruce Angel and Steve Kliendienst. However, Bob Ballantyne and his team of Mark Scobie and Trevor Bardsley firmed to championship favouritism with their 26 shot to 13 destruction of the defending champions; Jeff Cook, Bruce Blanch and Tom Morrow. The semi-finals and final will be contested on Saturday, February 6 at 9am and 1pm respectively. The district fours championships will be contested next weekend at Iluka and we wish all Yamba teams the best of luck. Social bowls continues with pairs played on Wednesday and triples on Friday. All games commence at 1pm and names need to be on the respective nomination sheets by 11.30am on the day of play. All nominations are guaranteed a game and visitors are most welcomed. Results from last week are: Wednesday 20th January: Winners: Kevin Corcoran and Stuart Bell. Runners-Up: Joe Graham and Greg Forbes. Consolation: Col Cohen and Ivan Bell. Friday 22nd January: Winners: Vern Nielsen, Jim Stone and Chris Muldoon. Runners-Up: Laurie Nutt, Graeme Quick and Ron Moore. Consolation: Graham Cole, Bob McKibbin and Ron Clay Don Freeman