Strong winds make Yamba course hard to score on

With strong afternoon winds last Thursday it was any wonder the morning players took most of the place in the mid week Stableford competition.

A Grade winner was Phil Wood with 39pts from Alex Podbereski 38pts and 3rd went to John Dale with 37pts.

Phil McDougal took out B Grade with the score of the day 42 points from Dave Barnsley 39pts on a c/b from Czes Czarnota.

In C Grade Iain Gosling was the winner on a three way c/b 39pts from Peter Sweetman and Mick McCormack.

NTPs: SeaFire 3rd – Dave Robinson (Walwa) with 228cm; Peter Campbell Physio 9th – Peter Blom at 300cm; SeaFire 10th – Terry Winser finished 124cm from the hole; Yamba Barber Shop 12th – Neville Corcoran at 31cm; the Pro Pin was won by Martyn Tishler at 31cm; SeaFire 17th went to Peter Sweetman at 228cm. Balls for the day went to 36pts or better.

Saturday Stableford and President v Director of Golf match

A small field turned out on Saturday for the weekend Stableford competition and with the annual President v Director of Golf grudge match on again it was always going to be a close affair with the Golf Directors side winning 1563 to 1571.

Other winners were, in A Grade Chris Holst won with 37pts on a c/b from Doug Luckie and 3rd went to Mike Grills with 36pts.

In B Grade Terry Cumiskey won with 3 score of the day 39pts from Chris Austin 38pts and 3rd went to Rob Hodson with 37pts and in C Grade Geoff Butler continues his run of form winning with 37pts from Peter O’Donnell with 35pts on a c/b from Paul Bennett.

NTPs: John Wright Pro Shop 3rd – Jeff Hackett (Grafton) 203cm; Peter Campbell Physio 9th saw Jolon Homewood at 203cm; SeaFire 10th was Paul Austin 235cm; SeaFire 12th went to Paul Edgar 77cm; the Pro Pin was won by Rob Hodson at 177cm; Bean Scene 17th was Greg Doolan at 280cm and the 2nd shot 17th was won by Paul Bennett at 196cm. Balls went to 34pts with 18 on the back 9.

Sunday Foursomes Championships

A small field contested this time honoured event with the eventual winners were the team of Chris Holst and Col Lindsay with 120 off the stick from Terry Lawes and Dave Bruton with 124.

In the nett Bruce Lulham and Dave Wilson were the winners with 107 nett on a c/b from Jan Dampney and Pip Dixon.

Chris Durrington