Latest News

CRDWBA Annual General Meeting

ABOVE: CRDWBA 2016-17 Committee L-R Back Ror P.McMullen,N.Graham,H.Scott,M.Grimes and L.Olsson. Front G.Ryan,A.Bowling,J.Axon and L.Demmery.


The Clarence River District Women’s Bowling Association held its annual meeting at the Maclean Bowling Club on Monday, August 8.
Maclean’s vice president Jan Funnell welcomed the District president and Club delegates before handing the Club and its facilities to the District and inviting all to morning tea.
At 10.30am District president Judy Abbott welcomed everyone to the 65th AGM and opened the meeting, thanking everyone for making her job much easier than she had anticipated, especially to secretary Lorraine Demmery who was so knowledgeable and kind. She congratulated incoming president Alma Bowling and wished her every success as the new District president also saying it was a little disappointing that there was only one nomination for vice president.
President Judy also commented on the sad loss of Sonia Graham’s husband in a car accident and the death of Red Rock stalwart Judy Turnbull after a long illness.
A five year service badge was presented by president Judy to South Grafton’s Noelle Graham (match committee).
President Judy then declared all positions vacant and asked Maclean WBC secretary Lee McKay to take the chair. Lee then presented incoming president Alma Bowling with her badge of office who then presented outgoing president Judy Abbott with her past presidents badge, congratulating Judy on the time and effort she had given the District over the past three years and wished her well for the future.
Election of office bearers: President – Alma Bowling (Grafton District Services) unopposed; vice president – Jen Axon (South Grafton) unopposed; vice president / secretary – Lorraine Demmery (Grafton District Services) unopposed; treasurer – Gwen Ryan (South Grafton) unopposed; match selection committee – Helen Scott (Yamba), Maureen Grimes (Maclean), Lynette Olsson (Yamba), Pam McMullen (Iluka), Noelle Graham (South Grafton) unopposed. The match committee elected Helen Scott (Yamba) as chairman; publicity officer / historian – Shirley Woodward (Grafton District Services) was appointed for a further term.
Shirley Woodward