Junior Club Champion, Emma Roberston. Image: Contributed

Big River Sailing Club celebrates the 2020/21 season

The Big River Sailing Club held its annual presentation night last Saturday, celebrating the achievements and contributions of members over the recent season.

The upsurge in interest last year saw healthy numbers participate at all levels, be that age, gender, and class of boat.

The Monohull Division was particularly well represented with 28 different boats entered over the seven-month-long series. The Multihull and Junior Divisions were likewise strong in numbers, with the expectation of greater numbers to come in the season ahead.

Prominent among this year’s award recipients were female members, with Hariet Woodrow and Emma Robertson taking out the Club Championship in the Senior and Junior Monohull divisions respectively. Denise Bruschwieler and Jan Scarlin were recognized for their ongoing service to the Club, Denise receiving the “Club Person of the Year” award.

The boys were not completely without honor, however, with Bob Eggins winning the Multihull Club Championship, and Bryan Linnet, Gus Young, and Hendrix Mohoney all winning their respective divisions in the Handicap Series.

Up and coming juniors Patrick Moore and AJ Black were also recognised for their achievements and contributions, Patrick as the Junior Club Person of the Year, and AJ winning the Junior Encouragement Award. 

The Club is currently enjoying a winter recess with the upcoming season to commence in the second last week of August. Full series results for the past season are available on the Club’s website.


Wayne Culph