Maclean & District Bowls

There were four Championship matches played last week. For results and details of future matches see the results section at the end of this report. Although no report has been received I believe the final of the Club Veterans Singles has been played with John Connell the winner over Jim Shannon. Congratulations to John and a well done to Jim on making it to the final.
Three of the four semi-finalists in the Club Mixed Pairs have been decided. In the top half Wendy Haselum & Garry Montgomery will play the winner of the match yet to be played between John Nash & Jane Hannah against Cheryl Johnson & Ron Smidt. The bottom half semi-final is between Diana & Doug Starr and Rex Wiseman & Sandra Ferro.
This Saturday (July 16) will see the first eight matches in this years’ prestigious Mixed Handicap Singles Championship played. Markers have been nominated for these matches, so check if you are down to mark a game on the noticeboard list.
We welcomed the bus load of mixed bowlers from Park Beach Club last Sunday. A good friendly game was played in perfect conditions in the morning, followed by drinks and then the visitors were treated to a great lunch. A great day was had by all.
Our men travelling bowlers ‘The Cane-cutters’ will be having a midyear appreciation day on Saturday July 23. Play to commence at 9.30am. A good fun day with lots of prizes.
Visitors are always welcome to visit our club and enjoy our renowned hospitality. They are always welcome to join in a game of social bowls. Pairs on Wednesday afternoon and Triples on Friday.
Club Minor Pairs – Wednesday July 6 (semi-final): Tony Fato & Tom Pendergast d John McKay & Terry Radford 21 – 10.
Club Mixed Pairs – Sunday July 10 (Round 2): John Nash & Jane Hannah d Maureen Grimes & Jim Johnson 25 – 11. (Quarter-final): Diana & Doug Starr d Pauline Stocking & Gary Scott 24 – 13.
Club Veteran Singles (final): John Connell d Jim Shannon 25 – 9.
Matches scheduled for play this Saturday July 16 at 1pm.
Mixed Handicap Singles (handicap & markers names in brackets)
Round 1: Kim Frazer (0) v Sandra Ferro (+1) (Rob Woldseth); Jim Mills (+3) v Wendy Haselum (+3) (Clyde Apps); Tom Pendergast (+6) v Peter Wilson (0) (Kevin Johnson); Tony Fato (+8) v Tom Johnson (+3) (Ben Lee); Mike Catling (+3) v Des Johnson (+3) (Ken Crampton).
Round 2: Michael Bailey (-2) v Peter Hurst (+3) (Doug Starr); John Collins (-8) v Warren McDonald (-10) (Sally Squires); Kerry Wells (-7) v Ross Murphy (-1) (Steve Fuller).