Winners of the Club Fours for 2022; Helen Atkinson, Carol Ritale, Vicki Beddow, Lois Duncan. Image: Contributed.

Yamba women’s bowlers Club Championships commence

Saturday February 19 and it is the first day of our Club Championships for 2022 and off the starting block was one rink of play between Cathryn Aitchison and her team of Cheryl Mazoudier, Gloria Davis and Judy Abbott.

In opposition was team Wendy Ballantyne – Julie Coulter, Carol Ritale and Chris Cole. Cathryn’s team kept pace with Wendy’s team until Wendy picked up a five on end 10 and then never looked back finishing with a 22 – 12 win.

Sunday February 20 saw the next round of the Club Fours with a nail-biter for Wendy Ballantyne and her team fresh from their win on the previous day – up against team Helen Atkinson – Kaye Bruschett, Jane Madden (subbing for Vicki Beddow) and Lois Duncan.

It was a tight game all through with scores fairly even until the 11th end when Helen and Co. stretched it out to 13 – 8. But Wendy and company fought back with a remarkable six shots to nose ahead by one shot. After that it was game on – and team Wendy was two shots ahead going into the last end – only for team Helen to reply with three shots taking the game 24-23. What a game!

In the other game Joan Scadden and team Jane Pearson, Sue Lindsay and Roz Moore put up a valiant battle against Marianne Jenner and team Marie Stone, Robyn McPherson and Monica Parker – scores fairly level until Marianne picked up a four on the 14th end. After that it was a game of catch-up for Joan and company, but Marianne and her crew took line honours with a 22 – 13 win, securing a place in the final on Saturday.

Saturday February 26 and it is the crunch for this year’s Club Fours. Weather was a bit iffy with the odd shower to annoy everyone – but the task in hand was to win with the best bowls one could produce. But despite Marianne and her team’s best efforts it was Helen Atkinson’s team who prevailed to take the 2022 Club Fours Championship overcoming Marianne’s team with a 28-10 win. Congratulations are in order for all players for their wonderful efforts.

Tuesday February 22 and three rinks of triples for today’s mixed social bowls. Winners for the day was team P. Chilcott, M. Abbott, T. Jackson d A. Marr, J. Pearson, C. Cole who received the consolation prize for the day. Runners-up were S. Lindsay, C. Mazoudier, B. Andrews who drew with V. Beddow, M. Gryl, J. Beaumont but won on ends won. The other game resulted in R. Moore, M. Jackson, R. Smidt d L. McLean, J. Gryl, G. Johnson.

An early game of the new 100-up competition saw Jane Madden pitted against Kathy Gunning with Jane coming out in front 100-68. Great to see our newer members having a go at this new innovation from our match committee.

And also, on the green on Tuesday – the next challenger for leader Carol Ritale in the Lyn Olsson Singles Challenge. And it was two of our absolute best in the ring – with Helen Atkinson – many times Cub Champion issuing a challenge. With both girls displaying their bowling talent at its best it was finally Helen who took the honours winning 25-17.

NOTE: Club Triples (including at least one Minor per team) close on March 24.

On Shot