Yamba 2019 President’s Award winner: Roslyn Moore with Club President, Ian Lauder. Image: contributed.

Yamba bowlers acknowledge their own

The Annual Presentation and Awards dinner was held on Thursday with all the women’s, men’s and mixed awards presented to the successful individuals and teams. This year the club celebrated state, zone, district and club achievements. Gary Gregor got the night off to a stylish and pulsating start with his music skills and euphonious tones bringing the crowd to fever pitch prior to the award presentations.

The gambit of awards started with the club’s formal acknowledgement of head greenkeeper, Graeme Brown’s, award as the 2019 New South Wales Greenkeeper of the Year, to the Men’s Grade 3 side achieving state runner-up status, through a myriad of state finalists, zone and district champions and the full range of club champions with each recipient receiving full recognition from their clubmates, families and supporters.

The night culminated with the announcement of the Tweed Heads Bowls Shop sponsored, female and male Bowlers of the Year and the presentation of the President’s Award. The Female Bowler of the Year award was a very closely contest with a number of bowlers performing well during the year and providing invaluable assistance to the bowls program with their dedicated commitment. However, it came down to two women, the ever-improving Julie Coulter and the consistent and reliable Wendy Ballantyne. Wendy took the award and delivered a humble and poignant acceptance speech.

The Male Bowler of the Year Award also came down to two bowlers. Both Graham Meany and Brad Johnson had fantastic years in 2019, sharing success in the Grade 3 Pennant side, competing in singles and team events at the State finals and dominating the club championship program. Graham had previously received the 2019 Clarence River District Senior Bowler of the Year award, while Brad took out the 2019 Clarence River District Open Bowler of the Year award. In a very tight vote count, it was Brad Johnson who took the award and the Don McDermid Memorial Trophy.

The President’s Award is bestowed upon the member that the President believes has made an outstanding contribution to the Club’s lawn bowls program throughout the year. This year the award was presented to Roslyn Moore for her continued, selfless and unique contribution to the club.  Ros’s announcement was greeted with a rousing burst of applause and acknowledgement.

The final programmed event on the 2019 calendar was the chicken and champagne breakfast bowls morning held on Sunday. A good crowd of 40 bowlers feasted on the pullet morsels whilst quenching their thirst with orange juice and chilled, vintage cava. The day also featured a spider sponsored by Bowls at Belmont and a game of mixed triples. All in all, a very good way to conclude the bowl’s year.

Men’s social bowls will continue on Wednesday and Friday afternoons. All games commence at 1pm and names need to be on the nomination sheets by 11.30am on the respective day of play. All nominations are guaranteed a game and visitors are most welcomed. Please note that their will be no bowls on Christmas Day.

Wednesday December 11

Winners: Bill Cox and Graham Meany; Runners up: John Parkes and Jim Johnson; Encouragement: Bill Williams and Peter Julian

Friday December 13

Winners: Vic Miller, Bill Williams and Steve Grodzki; Runners up: Ray Brown and Steve Burns (pairs game); Encouragement: Ron Clay, Jake McHutchison and Paul Lozell.e

Don Freeman

Yamba 2019 Male Bowler of the Year: Brad Johnson with Club President, Ian Lauder. Image: contributed
Yamba 2019 Female Bowler of the Year: Wendy Ballantyne with YWBC President, Bev Shatte. Image: contributed