Local News

A previous essay winner Maclean High student Angela Moore with Chris Gulaptis MP. Image: contributed

Winners announced in RSL essay competition

With students returning to school full-time the Maclean RSL sub-Branch is finally able to announce the winners of their Anzac themed Harry Lange Memorial essay competition, named in honour of a local WWII veteran.

Sub-branch president, Stephen Walton, acknowledged that the COVID-19 disruption to schools has meant that submissions are down a little from the bumper numbers of essays last year but, he said, the quality has always remained high.

Junior school students wrote about who we remember on Anzac day while senior students discussed the contribution of Australia’s wartime nurses. Mr Walton wanted to thank all the students and teachers who took the time to reflect on Australia’s military history and the importance of our nation’s most solemn commemoration.

Senior school winners are: 1st Carissa Miltiadou, 2nd Joshua Parlevliet-Dean and 3rd Baily Cameron. Middle school winners are 1st Harry Campbell, 2nd Amelia Johnson and 3rd Charles Jeffery. Junior winners are 1st Ben Burgess, 2nd Kiani Thwaites and 3rd Ian Burgess. Prizes and certificates will be awarded to students over the coming week.