President Janet with vice president Joan and treasurer Betty at the celebratory lunch. Image: Contributed

South Grafton women’s bowls

Tuesday July 2

Two more Championship Triples rounds were played alongside three rinks of social bowlers.
Club Championship Triples:
Rink (3). H Nickless, P Lollback & M Andrew d I Heppell, A Milligan & E Whitford 22-14; Rink (4). S (Bobby) Robinson, S Austen & C Kane d J Pholi, I Gough & L Betts 30-11.
Social bowls:
Rink (1). P Knox & M King d P Gray & B Essex 18-16; Rink (2). M Moran (swinging lead), G Ryan & A Bunn d M Moran (SL), J Myers & E McKew 19-11; Rink (5). P Harvey & D Fitzsimmons d D Rankin & G Cupples 18-9.
Winning Rink (2). Mary Moran, Gwen Ryan, Anna Bunn.
Lucky team: (9) Pam Harvey, Diane Fitzsimmons.
Competition winners: E McKew, P Lollback.
Resting toucher: M King.
In a bit of an upset Coll Kane collapsed after her game and duly ended up in Hospital. It was with much relief that we learned she was allowed home that night and felt well enough to join us on Wednesday at the Grafton Hotel; where SGWBC president Janet’s friends had gathered to enjoy a pleasant lunch and to present Janet with a gift in thanks for her time as president. Jan along with husband Bernie was a tireless worker for our club and these ladies were pleased to be able to celebrate their appreciation with her. Good luck Jan & Bernie in whatever the future holds.  
Thursday July 4

Yet another Championship Triples round was undertaken and once again three rinks of social bowling. The results as follows:
Triples Championship round:
Rink (2). M King, S Mandelc (sub for G Ryan) & A Bunn d E Casson (sub for M Sales), P Lollback & M Andrew 37-9.
Social bowls:
Rink (3). M Gallagher, S Austen & H Nichols d D Allison, B Ford & E Whitford 14-12; Rink (4). I Gough, J Pholi & C Nixon d D Rankin, J Pholi & C Smidt 37-11; Rink (5). S Newby, P Knox & E McKew d R Beadman, J Kowal & G Cupples 17-9.
Winning Rink (3): Mary Gallagher, Shirl Austen, Heather Nichols.
Lucky team (5): Irene Gough, Jean Pholi, Candice Nixon.
Competition winners: Dotty Rankin, Elwynne Casson.

 D McLachlan