Latest News

New committee take reins at Maclean Golf Club

Seven new committee members were elected to the nine member board of the Maclean Golf Club at the AGM on Sunday.
The new Club president is Paul O’Halloran; vice president is Bob Battin; former president Mark Hemmy moves to the treasurers position while newly elected Kim Moore takes on the secretary’s roll; Geoff Grayson continues in the captains seat and new board members are Judy Parkes, Bill McCurtayne, Mike Rogers and Richard Ross. Two of the three proposed constitutional changes were passed by the members but the proposal to change quorum numbers at meetings was defeated. President Paul’s positive address to the members on taking the chair inspired active discussion by members and finished the meeting on a positive note.
Thursday saw Mark Hemmy continue with the good form from the last Saturday outing and shoot a one over par round to record 41 Stableford points and win the day from Greg Dickinson who’s form also held up from Saturday to score
39 points. Pin winners on the day were Phil McGuire on 2, Des Plunkett on 7, Simon Commerford on 11 and John Porter on 17.
Saturday’s Stableford event was sponsored by Peter and Helen Hamilton and the true Mark Hemmy stood up with an inglorious 28 points and finished 43rd.
(Sorry Mark but even Tiger misses the cut sometimes). The winner on a high scoring day was John Phillips with 43 Stableford points which included a 4 putt. The runner up was Geoff Greenwood, who after 3 months sailing around the top end, seems to have found his land legs at last, with Wayne Mackaway winning a 3 way count back for third. Nearest the pins went to Andrew Clark, Alan Cope, Hugh Saunders and Mark Andrew won both the 17 and the Thistle Hole. Club balls ran to 35 points.
Next Saturday we play a Texas Fourball Aggregate which is being sponsored by Andrew Tom builder. Don’t forget Christmas raffles next Friday night and the new caterers are in full swing.
Geoff Grayson