Jennifer O’Neill and Meg Kulmar, this year’s Mike Macqueen Memorial Shootout winners. Image: contributed.

Meg Kulmar and Jennifer O’Neill are shootout victors

The Mike Macqueen Memorial Shootout is one of the most prestigious events on our annual golfing calendar. Comprising 2BBB v Stroke, 2-person Ambrose and Foursome formats, this year’s competition was blessed with perfect playing conditions for the 38 pairs who took part.

Playing three solid rounds, Meg Kulmar and Jennifer O’Neill were determined the winners of the 2021 event with their nett score of 203.25. Meg and Jen had shared runners up with two other pairs after Round 1 but managed to hold their nerve across the remaining two rounds to win the big prize ahead of their nearest rivals, Jenny Dewar and Lyn Rowland (205.5).

The formidable partnership of Darrie Nightingale and Gail Gore-Brown posted a fabulous score of 243 to be named gross winners for 2021.

In the minor placegetter results, Jill L Brown and Denise Ginn (211.25) were named 2nd runners up, just edging out Jeannie Doolan and Jennifer Fagan (212.25). The 4th runners up were Kathy Parker and Jane Bonner (214.25) while Margaret Fishburn and Lesley Love (215.75 c/b) beat Joan Berry/Dulcie Nurse 215.75 for 5th runners up on countback.

Congratulations, ladies and many thanks are extended to Jenny Macqueen for her continued support of this fantastic event.

Leigh Robertson