Lee McKay (left) and Lyn Sheppard. Image: Contributed.

Maclean women’s bowls

The AGM of Maclean Women’s Bowling Club was held on Tuesday July 16. All positions had been declared vacant. Eileen O’Keefe took the chair for the elections and she thanked the office holders for their work over the past year. Election results were as follows.

President – Kerrie Hudson; vice-presidents – June Johnston, Carolyn Power; secretary – Sue Grieve; treasurer – Janice Hayward; selection committee – Judy Parkes (chairman), Marissa Mutch, Monica Parker; match committee – Pauline Ryan (chairman), Cheryl Johnson,  Narelle Phelps, Nancy Phillips, Fiona Stewart-Butcher, Lorraine Connor; social committee – Leone Bodycote (chairman), Marlene Crelley, Cheryl Carter; Delegate – Sue Grieve; communications officers – Maggie Combley, Lee McKay; Patron – Marie Burnes. All were elected unopposed.

Flowers were presented to Lyn Sheppard for many years’ work on various committees and to Lee McKay for her work as secretary for nine years.

Badges were presented to Fay Cutting in recognition of her 25 years as a member and to Val Daniels who has been a member for 40 years.

In the morning, L J Hooker games were played. The winners, with the highest winning margin, were S Grieve, L Pearcey, C Power, M Parker who defeated L Connor, N Phelps, I Whitney, S Ferro 20-15.

Other results: P Ryan, L Sheppard, P Stockings, J Parkes (voucher winners) d M Mutch, M Crelley, C Johnson, F Butcher (consolation prize); L Bodycote, J Johnston, N Phillips, K Hudson d B Owen, S Youlten, M Grimes, C Byrum.

Mr Ken Giese from L J Hooker presented the prizes then spoke about his plan to build a new life-style village in the Gulmarrad district catering for those who wish to downsize but do not want to move away from this area.

The charity prize winner was N Phillips and the raffle was won by N Phelps.

Ray White Scroungers results for Thursday July 18: 1st C Power, 2nd K Hudson, 3rd N Phillips. Bottles of wine were won by L Pearcey and S Grieve. There is a sheet on the board for Scroungers tomorrow, July 25.

Maggie Combley