Community News

Lawrence Historical Society’s founding members step back

The 2016 AGM of the Lawrence Historical Society Inc. was well attended on Thursday, August 25. Members, volunteers and guests enjoyed a delicious supper before the serious business of reviewing the past year and electing the office bearers and committee for the forthcoming year.
President Robert Forbes, thanked outgoing members for their work and support in the past year, with particular mention of the contribution made by the long standing members.
Founding members of the Society, Rae & Terence Harrison, Vois & Brein Bancroft and Esther Smith decided not stand for election this year. They have contributed much during the past fifteen years to develop the Lawrence Museum from a community idea the present day collection of exhibits displayed in the former 2NR Broadcasting Station.
Robert Forbes spoke about the achievements of the year, which included accessing the internet, creation of a Facebook page and crowdfunding site, addition of new computers, heritage listing of three of the river vessels with the Australian National Maritime Museum and hosting two skills workshops for museum volunteers in the region. Robert also mentioned the success of the annual garage sale and community involvement with other community groups, especially on Australia Day.
Robert said the “New Shed Project” has been a major focus for the Society this year. It is desperately needed so we are able to continue to collect, preserve and display the larger items of local historical significance.
The Society now has development approval and a construction certificate to enable work on the project to commence. We will bury a time capsule with the foundations, and already have a number of ideas for items to be included.
Thanks to the following volunteers, individuals and community organisations, in no special order; all volunteers at the museum: North Coast Computer Project Inc., Les & Val Kerr, John McLennan, Rex Green, Cameron at Signcraft Displays, Daniel Butt, Jim Simmons, Chris Gulaptis, Member for Clarence, Libby Newell, Lawrence General Store, Clarence Valley Council’s Allan Downton and Deborah Wray. Robert praised the support local community groups; Bluff Pont Quilters, Lawrence Rodeo, Lawrence Sports & Golf Club, the Over 50’s and the Lawrence Community Club. All of the organisations made donations to help the ongoing coast of the museum and the new shed.
A special mention was made of the donations to museum, people have been very generous, and this year we had a vast array of radio and telecommunications equipment, agricultural equipment and social and cultural items.
Jim Simmons presided over the election of the committee for 2016-2017. Elected office bearers for the coming year are: president- Robert Forbes; vice president- Roz Jones; treasurer- Prue Harrington; secretary- Lynne Neilson; other committee members elected are Eulie Allen, Marie Besson, Shirley Hulme and David Williams.