Jason Dawson wins Grafton Saturday Stableford/Veteran’s golf AGM

Weekend competition

There were 135 starters in last Saturday’s Clarence Coast Motors single Stableford which resulted in the countback button requiring overtime to sort out all the various winners except in B Grade.

Two players completed their rounds with 42pts and only one could win the overall prize and that was Jason Dawson (h/cap 24), who put together 21pts for each 9. A visitor from Maclean Golf Club, Joshua Arndell (h/cap 14) who was on the wrong side of the c/b, had to settle for the win in B Grade as a consolation.

The A Grade winner was Mathew McKee (plus 1) who finished on 38pts from Paul Langford (h/cap 4) also with 38pts. The r/up in B Grade was John Frame (h/cap 15) with the 2nd best score of the day, 41pts.

Regular playing partners, Robert Usher (h/cap 19) and Robert Bell (h/cap 18) both finished on 40pts and the c/b process decided the winner of the two and possibly saved a friendship with Robert Usher getting the win.

Pro-balls went down to those on 35pts or better. 

The pro-pin was won by Neil Hayward (h/cap 15) on the 1st with his tee shot finishing 142cm from the cup. With the Armidale trip coming up next weekend, it was no surprise to see him miss the birdie putt.

The remaining NTP trophies were awarded to Jason Disson (h/cap 28) on the 6th ; Geoff Gilbert (h/cap 13) on the 10th.  The 17th was taken out by Graeme Smith (h/cap 14) with Terry Ord (h/cap 15) collecting the prize on the 4th

Whilst on the subject of NTP awards, players are requested not to claim the pro-pin unless they have paid the $1 entry fee to qualify. It does not happen often, however it does from time to time and to be denied the recognition of earning the applicable pro-pin award can result in some unhappiness.

Next Saturday we revert back to the Stroke format with the Monthly Mug on offer which is sponsored by McLennan Deece Optometrist. Chances of winning this desired event are enhanced on this occasion with a group of 24 regular golfers travelling up to Armidale for their annual inter club competition.

Midweek competition

In the Tuesday Members/Veteran’s competition, a field of just over 100 starters took up the challenge with Doug Clarks (h/cap 23) racing away to win the event with 23pts against his name at the chequered flag.  That win cost him two shots on his handicap. Not a good idea just before the Armidale trip. Evergreen Brett McConnell (h/cap 9) was the 1st r/up with 41pts from Leon McPhee (h/cap 15) on 40pts. Pro-balls went down to players with 33pts. The results were identical in both the Veterans and Members components of the competition.

In the Thursday competition the top score of the 70 players was 40pts recorded by Jack Sheean (h/cap 13) followed by Mitch Hemming (h/cap 15) on 39pts. At the conclusion of a three way c/b which also involved Rob Hull (h/cap 19) and Bob Mawhinney (22), pro-balls went down to some players on 34 points also decided by c/b.

There has not been any ‘hole in ones’ recorded over the past several weeks and as a result the ‘hole in one’ jackpot now stands at $1,000. To qualify for the jackpot you must register and pay the required $1 fee at the time of paying your green/competition fees. For a complete run down of the ‘hole in one’ jackpot conditions please refer to the club notice board.

Ray Hopwood

Veteran’s golf AGM

 The final of the Coopers Brewery ‘Top Gun Shoot Out” will be held this coming Sunday commencing at 9am for the men and 10am for the ladies. 

The top 10 men qualifiers are Dek Pabian and Ray Cavanagh both with 43. With 42pts, David Brown and Irwin Perring followed by Stephen Castle and Brett McConnel on 41pts. With 40pts, Leon McPhee, Eddie Clack and Glen Gardner made the cut with the remaining top 10 spot being claimed by Ken Radunz with 39pts.  The 1st reserve, should any of the top ten be unable to take their place in the final, is Stephen Hancock also with 39pts.

The Veterans AGM will commence at 12 noon following the shootout. At this meeting the Veteran’s committee will be elected for the ensuing year. Nominations for the committee positions closed on the October 6. 

For further details relating to either the ‘Shootout” or the AGM please contact Ron Baker, the Veteran’s Captain.

Ray Hopwood