Community News

Ben and Dean Gray accepting their grandfather’s award, with award recipients Patrick Wheeler and Darcy Mills. Image. Contributed.

Iluka Board members recognised for their service

On Sunday September 20, Iluka Bowls Club had the pleasure of presenting past Board members with Honorary Fellowship awards from ClubsNSW. These are awarded to former Board members that have served on Boards for 10 years or more as recognition for their service to their own Clubs and the Club industry.

Framed certificates and lapel pins were presented by our current President Colin Curnow at the AGM held on Sunday. Recipients were Ray Flaherty 17 years (now residing in QLD), Neil “Rossco” Gray 16 years (sadly Rossco passed away before he could receive his award) Patrick Wheeler 13 years and Darcy Mills giving 11 years of service on the Iluka Bowls Club Board. 

General manager Nicola Donsworth highlighted each Board member’s dedicated contributions to the Club over the years; from making the tough decisions in the boardroom to volunteering their time for a multitude of activities, from raffles, bowls day events, bus and door duties, footy tipping competitions to instigating change in systems.