Huge fields take to the fairways

With the holiday season in full swing, fields at Yamba have been huge. 197 golfers played in the midweek Stableford on the last day of 2020 and Richie Carter showed how golf should be played to win A Grade with a fabulous four under par round which gave him 43 points. Troy Urquhart and Pat Taylor both scored 40 points to secure the minor placings. In B Grade Steve Abbott returned to the winner’s podium with 38 points on a countback from Pete Rumford with Robert Yaldwyn (SGA) in 3rd place with 37. Round of the day was scored by Matt Playfair with a great round of 45 points to win C Grade from Charles Long (42) and Terry Alford (40). Nearest to the pins were 3rd M Lokic, 9th Steve Scott, 12th Pro Pin Troy Urquhart, 12th John Daley and 17th Kash Robinson. Balls went down to 34.

Dylan Spagnolo blitzes the course

A field of 196 golfers contested the Saturday Stableford, and scores were almost unbelievable.

Dylan Spagnolo won A Grade with a massive 47 points, only a couple over par. In second place was Jim Kelly who was also only a couple over par to record 45 points (and a loss of 4 from his handicap) and Luke Hitchings took third place with 41. Good scoring continued in B Grade, when Chris Austin and Addam Izzard both recorded 41 points and had to be separated by countback. Peter Auliff was third with 40. The old master, Ray Scovell, was the winner of C Grade with 39 points from David Groth and Roger Cotton who both scored 36.

NTP winners: 3rd Dylan Spagnolo 31cm, 9th Rodney Ford 86cm, 10th Tim Wyatt 76cm, 12th and also Pro Pin Bruce Lulham 51cm and 17th Kerry Henwood 226cm. Thanks to our sponsors, Peter Campbell Physio, John Wright Pro Shop, SeaFire Steak & Seafood, Yamba Barber Shop and Bean Scene. Balls went to 34 on a countback.

Greg Wyllie Eagles 6th hole

Despite the very wet weather before the weekend, 142 golfers braved a damp course to play a Stableford round. Highlight of the day was the Eagle scored by Greg Wyllie when he holed a 6 iron second shot on the 6th. In A Grade Wayne Rice won with 40 points from Col Lindsay and Jolon Homewood who both scored 39. In B Grade Jan Dampney paid a visit to the winner’s podium with a well compiled 40 points. Pip Dixon was runner up with 38 followed by Brett Slack-Smith (Forbes) on 37. Ashley Ekin took out the winner’s voucher in C Grade with 39 points with Tim Wyatt (Yowani) 37 and Todd Johnston 35 taking the minor placings.

NTP winners: John Wright Pro Shop 3rd Tony Roder 259cm, Peter Campbell Physio 9th Kevin Lowe 120cm, SeaFire Steak & Seafood 10th Terry Cumiskey 160cm, SeaFire Steak & Seafood 12th Dave McGregor 94cm, 12th Pro Pin Matt Sahlqvist 110cm and Bean Scene 17th Greg Wyllie 38cm. Balls went down to 34 with 20 on the back.