‘Hole in one’ to Terry Winser at Yamba

It has been a very busy golfing week at Yamba Golf & Country Club with competitions continuing to attract very large fields. With COVID restrictions easing a bit, it was a return to the NTP events. Terry Winser made the most of it when he hit the perfect shot to the 10th green and watched the ball disappear into the cup. A great way to welcome back this part of our competitions.

The annual Club Championships continued on Saturday with a strong wind and fast greens causing plenty of angst among most of the golfers. Best nett round of the day was recorded in C Grade when Greg Cowan scored 68 to win by a single shot from David Groth. Gordon Wilson came in third with 70.

In A Grade, Bruce Lulham and Andrew Bolte both scored 70 nett and visited the countback to determine the winner. Neil Gore-Brown took the minor placing with 71.

71 was the winning score in B Grade and Brad Roberts was victorious followed by Rod Dahlberg and Alex Holland on 72.

NTP winners: 3rd David Cruden 76cm, 9th Henry Mortlock 350cm, 10th Terry Winser H.I.O., 12th Greg Doolan 158cm and 17th Richard Beresford 278cm. thanks go to the sponsors of the NTP. SeaFire Steak & Seafood, Peter Campbell Physiotherapist and Bean Scene Café. The Ball rundown went to 76 nett on a countback.

Dave Grant midweek winner

The midweek Stableford competition saw a huge score win B Grade when Dave Grant amassed 45 points to take the voucher. Carl Wood and Greg Carter both scored 38 points and a countback sorted them into second and third positions.

In A Grade, Mike Grills occupied his normal 6.49am starting time and put together 39 points to win from Wayne Rice (38) and Todd Brewer (37). Paul Christie showed that his regular practice sessions during the lockdown paid dividends when he won C Grade on a countback from Bill Williams when both scored 39 points. Terry Hulm took third place with 37.

Ball winners needed 34 with 17 on the back nine.

Richie Carter leads championship

Sunday was the third round of the annual Club Championship with a singles Stroke event held in conjunction.

A Grade winner was Craig Penman with nett 68, from Ronnie Blakey (69) and Greg Wyllie (72 c/b).

In B Grade Luke Luchetti and Darryl Hagarty each scored nett 69 and had to go to the countback. Third place went to Rob Gimenez who scored 70.

After three rounds, the clubhouse leader is Richie Carter who holds a twelve-shot lead with 229 from Jolon Homewood 241, Harold Peacock 244 and Andre Rizk 246.

B Grade leader is Darryl Haggarty 261, Rob Hodson 268, Tommy James 269 and Rob Gimenez 273.

C Grade leader after two rounds is Jeff Boylon and Andrew McLennan 194, David Morris 197 and Gordon Wilson 199.

David Miles