GDSC Swimming Club

The June point score was announced prior to competition commencing this week.

In fifth place was Richard Sear with 36 points, fourth place went to John Wainwright on 37, third place was Adam Pearce on 44, second place went to Terry Marsh with 47 and first place and winner of the T & S Classic Trophy was awarded to Damien O’Mahony on 66.

It is hard to determine the cause – was it the cold weather or something in the water that caused a surge of disqualifications at last night’s swim meet? During the heats even some personal bests were swum and, in the finals, at least six disqualifications were registered.

The first final for the night was the 25m freestyle and all contestants were hoping to take home the Jake Kroehnert/ Ray White Real Estate Explosive cup for their trouble.

On the blocks were Doug Ensbey, Adam Pearce, Yvonne Shorrock and Damien O’Mahony.

Yvonne, Doug, Damien and Adam hit the water, on handicap, in that order and the chase began.

Doug, showing a turn of speed touched first just ahead of Damien but both lads were judged as being too fast – breaking times by .41 and .22.

Our relatively newcomer Adam was extremely happy to accept the cup for his well-timed effort and Yvonne was placed second.

Jill Enks, Tony Suel, Damien O’Mahony and David Moon lined up for the final of the 50m. On handicap it was Jill to take off first followed by Tony, Marno then Moony.

At the turn it was Jill still holding the lead and she continued to stay there until the finish only to be given the news that she had busted by .78. Damien suffered the same fate, breaking by .50 so Tony was awarded the win, a very timely one also as it was his last swim with the club prior to his move to Yamba. Damien earnt the points for second.

To round off the night the final of the 25m B B & B was held and making this final were Terry Marsh, Adam Pearce, Yvonne Shorrock and Tony Suel.

Tony, Yvonne, Terry and Adam hit the water in that order, and it was the breast stroking Marshy who covered the distance the quickest only to receive a ‘D.’ Yvonne also received a ‘D,’ so this left the win to be snapped up by Adam with Tony taking second place.

Toni Ensbey